ARC Review: Hero Worship by Christopher E. Long

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: Hero Worship
Authors: Christpher E. Long
Publication Date: January 1, 2014
Publisher: Flux
Format: eARC
Acquisition: Netgalley

Pre-order at: Amazon

Ever since becoming an IWP—Individual with Powers—Marvin Maywood has dreamed of joining the Core, a group of gifted heroes who save lives and stop crimes. But because he’s a homeless teenager who is forbidden to use his amazing powers, wanting and achieving that dream are two very separate things.
But when Marvin saves a family from dangerous hoodlums with his incredible strength and speed, his chance to try out for the Core comes at last. The opportunity seems like a dream come true—until he realizes that the idyllic hero life he imagined is just a mask for the corrupt reality. And when a beloved hero is murdered, Marvin is suspected of being the villain behind the crime.

banner-book-babble

The beginning of this book instantly made me think about The Incredibles movie, where people with superpowers live among normal people. But I found that it went way deeper than that where powers are classified as either “clean” or “dirty,” and only those deemed “clean” are free to use their powers to save others. This line in the book just hit the spot for me:

“Isn’t it ironic? We have powers, but we’re powerless.”

The main character, Marvin, was classified as dirty, eradicating his hope to ever be part of The Core. The Core is the group of people that have been considered clean, and is the group of heroes of Loganstin City. And Marvin just adores them. He even collects action figures and other merchandise. Hence, hero worship. When the opportunity arises for Marvin to join The Core, he latches on instantly, but it’s never really as simple as it all seems.

I really love the characters in Hero Worship. Marvin is kind-hearted and heroic in every way. He makes a couple of mistakes in the story, but I still like him. Even though he was considered dirty, he wouldn’t allow himself to participate in any illegal activities so he works as a busboy at Midtown Cafe to earn a living. And his boss, Gus, is a character that I definitely love. He’s like Gandalf or Obi-wan or any of those side-characters that guide the main character along even though they don’t really participate much. Gus had a lot of good advice to offer to Marvin, and I just really like him. He was a really good friend to Marvin even though Marvin wouldn’t really open up to him. And once I got to know Gus more, I loved him more and more.

Marvin’s best friends, Yvonne and Kent, were both also qualified as dirties. The three of them stuck together and lived together in an underpass. They weren’t able to live a normal life – a home with a family, a high school life, etc. The three of them pretty much only had each other for years, living illegally under the radar (except for Marvin). Yvonne is a pretty tough girl, but I think that her character was given more depth throughout the story. Kent is one of my favorite characters. I think he’s a good source for comic relief, but he’s also a sensitive person. He shows off different sides of himself, and I pretty much fell in love with him.

Honestly, this was the kind of book that I vividly pictured in my head like a movie. I like the whole feel of it, even though I don’t normally read or watch about superheroes. The story and characters were really engrossing that I finished this in a few hours. And when it was time for the epilogue, I was playing epic music in my head (like one you would hear in an ending of a movie).

I think that the content is more for mature YA, considering the language and violence. Or maybe that’s just me.

**************************************************

OVERALL, this was an epic hero novel that I just simply loved. The characters were amazing, especially Marvin’s group of friends, but my favorites would definitely be Gus and Kent, who are both funny, smart, and great friends. Hero Worship is action-packed with chase scenes and fight scenes, showing off the powers of the individuals. I’m not really sure if there will be more after this book, but I would definitely read a sequel!

RATING:
5-star

P.S. Thanks to Flux and Netgalley for my copy~

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

