Book Review: C.J. Redwine’s Defiance

Published: September 1st 2012 Publisher: Balzar & Bray ISBN13: 9780062222787 Format: Paperback Edition Language: English Acquisition: Bought Synopsis: Rachel Adams has a secret. While the other girls in Baalboden sew dresses and obey their male Protectors, Rachel knows how to survive in the wilderness and deftly wield a sword. When her father, Jared, fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the city's brutal Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector, her father's apprentice, Logan - the same boy Rachel declared her love for two years ago, and the same one who handed her heart right back to her. Left with nothing but a fierce belief in her father's survival, Rachel decides to find him herself. But what awaits her in the Wasteland could destroy her. Logan McEntire is many things. Orphan. Outcast. Inventor. As apprentice to the city's top courier, Logan is focused on learning his trade so he can escape the tyranny of Baalboden. But his plan never included being responsible for his mentor's daughter. Logan is determined to protect her but soon realizes he has more at stake than disappointing Jared. As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can't be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.

Click on the image to go to the book’s Goodreads page..

Title: Defiance
Author: C.J. Redwine
Published: September 1, 2012
Publisher: Balzar & Bray
ISBN13: 9780062222787
Format: Paperback
Series: Defiance
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Rachel Adams has a secret. While the other girls in Baalboden sew dresses and obey their male Protectors, Rachel knows how to survive in the wilderness and deftly wield a sword. When her father, Jared, fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the city’s brutal Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector, her father’s apprentice, Logan – the same boy Rachel declared her love for two years ago, and the same one who handed her heart right back to her. Left with nothing but a fierce belief in her father’s survival, Rachel decides to find him herself. But what awaits her in the Wasteland could destroy her.
Logan McEntire is many things. Orphan. Outcast. Inventor. As apprentice to the city’s top courier, Logan is focused on learning his trade so he can escape the tyranny of Baalboden. But his plan never included being responsible for his mentor’s daughter. Logan is determined to protect her but soon realizes he has more at stake than disappointing Jared.
As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can’t be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.

banner-book-babble

This has been one of the worst books I have ever read. Rachel, the main character, was simply infuriatingly stupid. I can take characters who are too nice or tough or whatever, but I simply cannot take characters that are really stupid. (Danger! Hello? Are you stupid?!)

One should feel sorry for Rachel. Her father dies protecting something he believes should not be given to the wrong hands. Rachel’s father did an honorable thing, but met a sad fate. So yes, why shouldn’t we feel sorry for her? Because she is a dishonor to her father! I like strong female characters, but Rachel was simply too way in over her head. She makes rash decisions that gets herself, and even others, in trouble. She is insanely self-centered, and she never bothers to watch her tongue or back.

Now let’s go to Logan. I’ll admit, I like him a little because he gets really mean to Rachel (Yes, I hate her.), but it’s still wrong. I don’t even understand their relationship. It’s a love-hate thing maybe? Who knows. Although I like how Logan is really smart in terms of planning and inventing. Maybe Rachel should have listened to him more.

This book was told in the perspectives of Rachel and Logan, and every time I would see Rachel’s name on the chapter heading, I would start preparing myself from all the idiocy I would encounter. I would stop reading, curse inwardly, breathe, and then start reading again. That’s just how bad it is.

Also, how did society revert back to making females as lesser beings than men? I’m assuming this does not take place in the olden days, considering their names and the technology present in the book. Well, I don’t really know what to make of the timeline for the story. I just really don’t like how the women needed “Protectors” who rule their lives. I think it was just taken too much into the extreme that they can’t even be in the streets without their protectors.

It is such a shame how this book was so mind-blowingly disappointing. The book cover is simply lovely. The book has a good title. Even the synopsis was pretty good. But once you read it, you will just hate it. Well, I did anyway, and I even bothered to finish the book, even though it was excruciatingly long. I’ve seen a couple of people drop it. I just don’t get it.

The story was awful. The romance was awful. The characters were extremely awful. Awful. Awful. Awful!

If you like idiocy, then this book is for you. It definitely is NOT the book for me. I sold my copy. We should give this book the bootThis is a waste of time and money.

RATING:

0.5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook


Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own any of the images I use, but some may be subject to editing.
3 thoughts on “Book Review: C.J. Redwine’s Defiance

  1. It’s a shame the book wasn’t as good as the blurb. That has been happening to me with a lot of dystopian books lately. The blurs looks FABULOUS, the covers are gorg, the reviews from everywhere are great, then I begin reading…
    Oy Vey!
    I hate when a book I was lusting over becomes a dud. I honestly don’t post DNF reviews. I could never sum it up like you did in yours. That’s why I enjoyed your review. It was honest and you gave legit points as to what didn’t work for you & how it made you feel.
    I’ve had this floating around for awhile now & I think its going into my next “Donate” box 😉
    (ps: your my 1st WP subscriber since I moved to WP yesterday 🙂

  2. It was just that awful. I am usually nice about books, so to hate something just makes this book that bad. Yes, let go of it. I’m sure you won’t miss it. Haha!
    Thank you for your kind words. They mean a lot to me. I’m new on WP too. 😀

  3. I hated how weak the world building was. I could barely picture where they lived, where it was located, and then there was Cursed One…was there only one or many of these dragon beast things? Basically all that was explained is that everything we know of now is completely destroyed. How our society suddenly went back to cavemen chauvinism was NEVER explained either and that really bothered me…because that is a big deal. In a dystopian world if women are suddenly treated like lower class citizens (or even worst that than) then there had better be a really good explanation other than the stereotypical “men think we are weak” because that is terrible writing and a weak excuse.

Leave a Reply

