Book Review: Shannon Messenger’s Let The Sky Fall

Click the image to see on Goodreads Published: March 5th 2013  Publisher: Simon Pulse ISBN13: 9781442450417 Format: Hardcover Edition Language: English Acquisition: Bought Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Vane Weston has no idea how he survived the category five tornado that killed his parents. And he has no idea if the beautiful, dark-haired girl who’s swept through his dreams every night since the storm is real. But he hopes she is. Seventeen-year-old Audra is a sylph, an air elemental. She walks on the wind, can translate its alluring songs, and can even coax it into a weapon with a simple string of commands. She’s also a guardian—Vane’s guardian—and has sworn an oath to protect Vane at all costs. Even if it means sacrificing her own life. When a hasty mistake reveals their location to the enemy who murdered both of their families, Audra’s forced to help Vane remember who he is. He has a power to claim—the secret language of the West Wind, which only he can understand. But unlocking his heritage will also unlock the memory Audra needs him to forget. And their greatest danger is not the warriors coming to destroy them—but the forbidden romance that’s grown between them.

Click the image to see on Goodreads

favoriteTitle: Let The Sky Fall
Author: Shannon Messenger
Published: March 5, 2013
Publisher: Simon Pulse
ISBN13: 9781442450417
Format: Hardcover
Series: Sky Fall
Acquisition: Bought
Purchase at: Amazon

Seventeen-year-old Vane Weston has no idea how he survived the category five tornado that killed his parents. And he has no idea if the beautiful, dark-haired girl who’s swept through his dreams every night since the storm is real. But he hopes she is.
Seventeen-year-old Audra is a sylph, an air elemental. She walks on the wind, can translate its alluring songs, and can even coax it into a weapon with a simple string of commands. She’s also a guardian – Vane’s guardian – and has sworn an oath to protect Vane at all costs. Even if it means sacrificing her own life.
When a hasty mistake reveals their location to the enemy who murdered both of their families, Audra’s forced to help Vane remember who he is. He has a power to claim – the secret language of the West Wind, which only he can understand. But unlocking his heritage will also unlock the memory Audra needs him to forget. And their greatest danger is not the warriors coming to destroy them – but the forbidden romance that’s grown between them.

BROKEN BY THEIR PASTS. DIVIDED BY THEIR FUTURES. BOUND BY LOVE.

banner-book-babble

First reaction: *fangirl squeals* and “NOOOOOOO” to the ending.

I think this has been the second book that got me so absorbed. It blew me away~ The first one was Starters, and I HAVE TO WAIT for the release of the next books for both Starters and Let the Sky Fall. (sobs) Must.get.next.books. (gets restless)

Please note that it might be easier to understand this if you have read the book (SO GRAB A COPY! NOW! DON’T THINK TWICE! NOW!) This has a perfect mixture of romance, comedy, lovable characters, good plot, and a whole new idea of mythical creatures (or maybe I just don’t know much about sylphs, but it’s better than all the vampires and werewolves or whatever). I like how the winds have their own voices, moods, characteristics, and languages specific to each one of them. (For those who haven’t read it and I don’t why you haven’t because you must: Yes, there are different kinds of wind.)

The book just gripped me. I was BOUND to it. (nudge nudge wink wink) I love the writing style. It was wonderfully descriptive and very modern. It was also told in the points of view of the two main characters, which I absolutely love because Vane is absolutely funny and abso-fucking-lutely adorable, and Audra puts you into perspective about the world of the sylphs and everything that has been happening. Some details weren’t very elaborate though, which may be expounded more in the following books. (I hope so anyway. More to look forward to!) I don’t really have enough words to express my love for this book, but I’m guessing you’re getting a whiff of that from all my comments and side comments.

I like how Audra is the strong and brave character, who is just also a girl deep down. Vane is also a girl deep down. (just kidding) I bet he shrieks like one though. I like how Vane makes everything himself (i.e. Vane puddle, Vane-splat, Vane pretzel, Vane etc. – I highlighted all the terms in my copy. You should go look out for them) (Huh. Vane. Vain. I wouldn’t mind having anything Vane though) I love his voice the best. I like his demeanor, his secret thoughts (which definitely makes me laugh), his determination, his love (don’t mind the cheese), and just everything.

I have this theory that Shannon Messenger is a sylph, and she send winds to me to get me so attracted to Let the Sky Fall. (just kidding) But the effects were all the same. When I first got wind of this book, I instantly wanted to read it! I’m not a big fan of orange, but the cover is simply wonderful. I love it. Even the book itself is wonderful without the cover jacket. It’s very simple, yet elegant. I’m not one for buying hardbound books (because they’re expensive, large, and VERY heavy), but this one is definitely worth it. It’s that beautiful! The wait and the money I spent on Let the Sky Fall was definitely worth it! It’s high up on my favorites list!

This book is filled with action, fantasy, comedy and romance, with an adorable guy to boot. So that’s that. For the last time, READ LET THE SKY FALL. And when you do and liked it, send me a message and we can fangirl together.

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own any of the images I use, but some may be subject to editing.
2 thoughts on “Book Review: Shannon Messenger’s Let The Sky Fall

  1. I LOVED VANE TOO! I THOUGHT THAT HE WAS A GIRL TOO! xD Okay, so I particularly liked that though. He wasn’t that macho guy…and it was just so different and refreshing that I just completely fell for it. He’s strong in his own way too! ❤

    I wrote my own review of Let The Sky Fall if you want to check it out! Also, I think you may like this article of the cover for the sequel, Let The Storm Break….and a possible chance to get an ARC! 😀

    – Emma

Leave a Reply

