Book Review: Jennifer E. Smith’s This Is What Happy Looks Like

Click on the image to go the book's goodreads page. Published April 2nd 2013 Publisher: Poppy ISBN13: 9780316212823 Format: Harcover Edition Language: English Acquisition: Bought Synopsis: When teenage movie star Graham Larkin accidentally sends small town girl Ellie O'Neill an email about his pet pig, the two seventeen-year-olds strike up a witty and unforgettable correspondence, discussing everything under the sun, except for their names or backgrounds.  Then Graham finds out that Ellie's Maine hometown is the perfect location for his latest film, and he decides to take their relationship from online to in-person. But can a star as famous as Graham really start a relationship with an ordinary girl like Ellie? And why does Ellie want to avoid the media's spotlight at all costs?

Click on the image to go the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: This Is What Happy Looks Like
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Published: April 2, 2013
Publisher: Poppy
ISBN13: 9780316212823
Format: Hardcover
Series: N/A
Acquisition: Bought
Purchase at: Amazon

When teenage movie star Graham Larkin accidentally sends small town girl Ellie O’Neill an email about his pet pig, the two seventeen-year-olds strike up a witty and unforgettable correspondence, discussing everything under the sun, except for their names or backgrounds.
Then Graham finds out that Ellie’s Maine hometown is the perfect location for his latest film, and he decides to take their relationship from online to in-person. But can a star as famous as Graham really start a relationship with an ordinary girl like Ellie? And why does Ellie want to avoid the media’s spotlight at all costs?

If you are looking for light and fluffy reads, then this is the book for you. This book has a perfect blend of comedy, romance, and just a little conflict to bring out the characters’ personalities.

banner-book-babble

“If fate sent you an e-mail, would you answer?”

This love story starts with an e-mail about a pig. Perfect, right? Definitely something you’d want to tell your friends when they ask about how you met the person you love. It’s definitely interesting though. It’s interesting how the internet connects people from all over the world, and it’s even more interesting how we acquaint ourselves with all these strangers and find how we can learn to like and love these other strangers. Graham Larkin and Ellie O’Neill learned to take advantage of this – how they can share anything and everything to someone they never met, someone whose name they didn’t even know. This was their escape from their own personal solitude. It’s wonderful how they can be open about each other, since they won’t have to worry about what the other might really think. They would never really meet anyway. But they do.

And the story unfolds. Personally, I think that there’s nothing very original about the plot. It has all been done before, but the story was beautifully written. The pacing was perfect to get lost in all its fluffy-ness. I also like the chapter introductions. It started out with their e-mails, but it changed along the way just like how their relationship started to develop along the pages of the book. As you get to know the characters, you learn to appreciate the relationship that they had with each other, and you would be rooting for them.

Graham Larkin is simply charming. Beneath the handsome actor exterior is just a young, sensitive guy. If you’re into nice guys then Graham is certainly for you. He’s funny, adorable, and caring. I’m not that fond of his name though. It reminds me too much of crackers. Although s’mores is what happy looks like so I guess you really do need Graham.

Ellie O’Neill is your small town girl with a big secret. A secret that may very well change her life and the lives of those she cares about. No, it’s not as bad as it sounds. Or is it? I think that Ellie is a strong person to be able to keep things to herself. One thing I really like about Ellie is her determination to get into a good school she couldn’t even afford.

“I can’t afford it, she’d written. Isn’t that the worst reason you’ve ever heard? I’ve got to figure out a way to make it work, because I’d hate myself for missing it because of something as stupid as money.”

The ending just made me smile. Of course, I won’t tell you what happens, but it was all so simple and perfect enough for me. And I’m usually critical over endings. I’ve worked my way to get there so they better please me. And yes, this book pleased me, even though I probably normally wouldn’t be delighted by an ending like this. (It’s hard being vague, isn’t it?)

This is the second book that I have read from Jennifer E. Smith, and I am loving her books. I must confess that some occurrences in her books are too awfully convenient, but then again, this is fiction so it doesn’t always have to show reality. Although she may be aiming for that, considering her books are listed under realistic fiction. Maybe this is possible in real life. I wouldn’t know, but we can always dream. I still like The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight better though, or maybe that’s a personal bias to English boys.

All in all, I loved This Is What Happy Looks Like, and I recommend that you read it if you want to smile, laugh, and fall in love.

RATING:

5-star

Love is what happy looks like~

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook


Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, but some may be subject to editing.
4 thoughts on “Book Review: Jennifer E. Smith’s This Is What Happy Looks Like

  1. I can’t wait to read this. I met the author and she was so nice and sweet. I loved her other books.

    The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is one of my favorite books. I read around it Valentine’s Day. I think I might make it an annual love rocks day.

Leave a Reply

