Book Review: Red Ridinghood Retellings

tumblr_mkbxm0vcuP1rcpbkvo1_500

I find it amusing that the composition of both covers are so similar. Being both retellings of the classic story, the stories have similarities as well. However, there are a lot of differences too.

banner-book-babble

Click on the image to open the book's goodreads page. Published April 5th 2011 Publisher: Little Brown Books ISBN13: 9780316068673 Format: Paperback Edition Language: English Acquisition: Christmas Gift from a friend~ Synopsis: Scarlett March lives to hunt the Fenris--the werewolves that took her eye when she was defending her sister Rosie from a brutal attack. Armed with a razor-sharp hatchet and blood-red cloak, Scarlett is an expert at luring and slaying the wolves. She's determined to protect other young girls from a grisly death, and her raging heart will not rest until every single wolf is dead.  Rosie March once felt her bond with her sister was unbreakable. Owing Scarlett her life, Rosie hunts ferociously alongside her. But even as more girls' bodies pile up in the city and the Fenris seem to be gaining power, Rosie dreams of a life beyond the wolves. She finds herself drawn to Silas, a young woodsman who is deadly with an ax and Scarlett's only friend--but does loving him mean betraying her sister and all that they've worked for?

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Sisters Red
Author: Jackson Pearce
Published: June 7, 2010
Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN13: 9780316068680
Format: Paperback
Series: Fairytale Retellings
Acquisition: Christmas Gift from a friend~

Purchase at: Amazon

Scarlett March lives to hunt the Fenris – the werewolves that took her eye when she was defending her sister Rosie from a brutal attack. Armed with a razor-sharp hatchet and blood-red cloak, Scarlett is an expert at luring and slaying the wolves. She’s determined to protect other young girls from a grisly death, and her raging heart will not rest until every single wolf is dead.
Rosie March once felt her bond with her sister was unbreakable. Owing Scarlett her life, Rosie hunts ferociously alongside her. But even as more girls’ bodies pile up in the city and the Fenris seem to be gaining power, Rosie dreams of a life beyond the wolves. She finds herself drawn to Silas, a young woodsman who is deadly with an ax and Scarlett’s only friend–but does loving him mean betraying her sister and all that they’ve worked for?

This is a modernized version of the fairy tale set in America in recent times where we already have technology and common knowledge of certain things. I like that part of Sisters Red. What really ruined it for me was the romance in the story. I cannot even fathom how the two characters could possibly fall in love like that. I’m a sucker for romance, but I hated every romantic scene. I could not fully enjoy the book at all because of this. I just could not understand that relationship and how Scarlette was able to accept it. I just don’t get it.

In Sisters Red, there are two red-hooded girls who are sisters (if that wasn’t obvious enough). Scarlette, the older sister, wields an axe, and Rosie, the younger sister, uses knives to hunt the werewolves. I personally like Scarlette as she portrays a strong, independent woman who does what is right because she knows she has to and there are very few who can actually do it. Rosie, on the other hand, is your typical girl who cares most about falling in love and doing her own thing, which is a little too inconsiderate. I guess that’s just how some people are. They just don’t care.

Overall, I’m not very fond of this book. Or the series for that matter. I mean there are werewolves in Red Ridinghood, but to take it to all the other stories is just weird to me. To read or not to read? I’m quite neutral really, but I’m personally leaning to the not reading.

RATING:

3-star

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: Scarlette
Author: Davonna Juroe
Published: October 12, 2012
Publisher: BumbleB Media, Inc.
ASIN: B009PU7TJQ
Format: Kindle edition
Series: N/A
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

What if Little Red Riding Hood was real?
Ninety years before the Brothers Grimm penned their version of “Little Red Riding Hood,” an historic, gruesome series of events shocked all of Europe. Starting in 1764, an unidentified wolf-like animal ferociously mauled dozens of peasants in the Gévaudan region of France.
Whispered rumors of unnatural creatures blended with age-old superstition to cause mass hysteria. A werewolf was blamed for the carnage. Alarmed, King Louis XV sent his best huntsmen to rid the province of the beastly scourge, but this legendary massacre had only just begun.
Scarlette, a 19-year-old seamstress who is laboring to make ends meet, lives under this dark threat. Although fearful of the nightmarish monster lurking in the surrounding forest, she remains skeptical of the supernatural gossip.
Until her grandmother is attacked.
Scarlette learns that her grandmother has been infected by the animal’s bite. Desperate to save her, Scarlette begins to uncover the dark secrets of her village and finds there are those who wish to keep their pasts hidden. As time grows short, Scarlette is befriended by a local nobleman and a woodcutter who both share an eerie history with the wolf.
Scarlette must unravel the men’s connection and solve a long-forgotten crime. But as she pieces together the clues, Scarlette finds herself torn between the two men. Both of them desire more than friendship and together hold the key to the cure.
Based on both the traditional Grimm and Charles Perrault versions of “Little Red Riding Hood,” this dark YA novel is set against the Beast of Gévaudan attacks, blending history with fairy-tale and gothic romance. Unique to the genre, the novel revives the French fable of the girl-in-the-red-cloak with a new, shockingly real existence that blurs the line between folklore and reality.

Scarlette is set in the 1700s in France. In the extended version of the book, it will start with an Author’s Note where Juroe explains the perspective of the book and its historical basis. There’s also an extra short story in the extended version, which I wish were longer than it was.

The best thing that my College History professor taught me is that history is hiSTORY. Historical facts should be treated as stories for people to better appreciate them rather than bombarding student brains with all these random facts. It should be related to something which connects to us to find how these facts are relative to us as we are now. And I think that Davonna Juroe did just that. By inserting these historical facts into her story, I was able to actually enjoy history at it should be. I also like how she includes some French words or phrases into her writing, which are either a review of something I learned before or new knowledge on the language. I also like her play with words that adds amusement to how the story can be read.

Scarlette has a lot of fairytale elements – prince charming, damsel in distress, etc. But it also shows how a young and naive girl turns into a strong heroine. There’s a lot to see in this book that would be best read for yourself so I won’t discuss further. (Although if you have read it, feel free to discuss with me. Just send me a message! I’d love to hear from you)

Ultimately, the story kept me guessing and doubting every other character. I really enjoyed it and I couldn’t stop reading until I finished the whole thing, but when I did, I felt like it ended too fast. Despite that, the ending was satisfying. I really loved this book and I recommend that you read it~

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own any of the images I use, but some may be subject to editing.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Red Ridinghood Retellings

  1. I read Sisters Red about a year or two ago. Her sequel Sweetly was really good, too. It is based on Hansel and Gretel, but has werewolves in it. As well as a brother from Sisters Red. I still haven’t read the third, Fathomless.

    Just added Scarlette to my list. I have always loved Little Red Riding Hood.

    Happy reading!

    -indiereadergirl

    indiewritergirl0329.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

