Book Review: Kristin Cashore’s Fire

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Fire
Author: Kristin Cashore
Published: June 10, 2010
Publisher: Gollancz
ISBN13: 9780575085138
Format: Paperback
Series: Graceling Realm
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Fire’s exceptional beauty gives her influence and power. People who are susceptible to it will do anything for her attention, and for her affection.
But beauty is only skin deep, and beneath it Fire has a human appreciation of right and wrong. Aware of her ability to influence others, and afraid of it, she lives in a corner of the world away from people – not only to protect them but also to protect herself from their attention, their distrust, and even their hatred.
Yet Fire is not the only danger to the Dells. If she wants to protect her home, if she wants a chance to undo the wrongs of the past, she must face her fears, her abilities, and a royal court full of powerful people with reason to distrust her.

banner-book-babble

Sadly, I did not like this as much as I liked Graceling. What happened to all the romance and comedy that we saw in the first book? What happened to all the exciting chapters?

The Commencement: I bought Fire as part of the Graceling Realm series. I bought it even before learning what it was about so I was pretty surprised when I read the synopsis that it was a prequel to the first book. I was honestly hoping to read more of Katsa and Po, but I guess that has to wait until Bitterblue, unless they aren’t really shown much there either.

The Cover: The Graceling Realm series has two kinds of covers for the english versions, as far as I know anyway. The first one was not so eye-catching to me so I never really bothered with it. What can I say, I like pretty things. But then I saw this cover at the bookstore, and I simply HAD to have it. It is just gorgeous! I don’t think the cover reflects much of the story though, except for the red hair. But it’s pretty all the same.

The Composition: After reading Graceling, this came as such a disappointment to me. I’m not sure how to pinpoint the exact parts that were wrong for me, but it just didn’t feel right. The story was set in the Dells outside of the Seven Kingdoms that we saw in Graceling, and their world is far different, as we find very beautiful predatory monsters with the ability to trick people with their beauty. The story started out pretty good where we find a character from Graceling, but that was only the prologue. From the first chapter, I feel that it started out pretty slow. Albeit each chapter talks about things that are vital to the plot, I only really started enjoying this halfway through the book. And the different elements mostly come together near the end so it made me a little impatient for I did not feel the importance of some of the scenes. I think that the whole thing slowly gets better along the way. I was not as entertained as I was when I read Graceling though.

The Characters:

In Fire, we have another gifted female protagonist. Fire, the main character, is a human monster gifted with beauty that either makes people infatuated by her or makes people hate her. She is able to read and control minds, aided by this beauty. Many want to harm her and succeed so for the most part of the story, she is in pain. And she spends an awful lot of time talking about her period. I guess it had a bearing to the story, but it was just weird to me. Like Katsa, she also had no intentions of marrying (what does Kristin Cashore have against marriage?). She also didn’t want to love anyone because they are bound to die. Fire is just strange to me, and I can’t say that I really like her that much. She has her good moments, but she just seems daft during the other times. Fire was a misunderstood girl who redeems herself by helping those who need her.

I shall no longer talk about all the other characters. I did not find most of them that interesting, and I don’t really care much for them. Some of them have their moments where I could care to like them, but at other times, they are just there to move the story along.

The Couple: We don’t really see much of the romance relationship in this book. The focus of the book was elsewhere, but they had their sweet (but brief) moments. There’s not really much to go on so I didn’t feel the love that much. It was there, but not as present.

The Charm: I’m not really sure what I liked most about this book. I cannot really remember any favorite moments. The story held together as a whole, and I don’t find any that has been fully etched into my memory.

**************************************************

The Conclusion: All in all, I think that this is still a good book, although I’m not as overly fond of it as I would like to be. Therefore, I don’t have much to say. So…

RATING:

3.5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own any of the images I use, but some may be subject to editing.
One thought on “Book Review: Kristin Cashore’s Fire

  1. Pingback: Books to Read After You Finish The Hunger Games Trilogy | Chronically Bored

Leave a Reply

