Book Review: Bridget Zinn’s Poison

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: Poison
Author: Bridget Zinn
Published: March 12, 2013
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
ISBN13: 9781423139935
Format: Hardcover
Series: N/A
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Sixteen-year-old Kyra, a highly-skilled potions master, is the only one who knows her kingdom is on the verge of destruction—which means she’s the only one who can save it. Faced with no other choice, Kyra decides to do what she does best: poison the kingdom’s future ruler, who also happens to be her former best friend.
But, for the first time ever, her poisoned dart . . . misses.
Now a fugitive instead of a hero, Kyra is caught in a game of hide-and-seek with the king’s army and her potioner ex-boyfriend, Hal. At least she’s not alone. She’s armed with her vital potions, a too-cute pig, and Fred, the charming adventurer she can’t stop thinking about. Kyra is determined to get herself a second chance (at murder), but will she be able to find and defeat the princess before Hal and the army find her?
Kyra is not your typical murderer, and she’s certainly no damsel-in-distress—she’s the lovable and quick-witted hero of this romantic novel that has all the right ingredients to make teen girls swoon.

A book for all ages – Poison is an amazing debut.

banner-book-babble

The Commencement: I first found out about Poison through Lissa Price. She posted it on her twitter and/or blog so I checked it out, and I found out that Bridget Zinn passed away even before her book was published.  It truly is so sad, and I think that the book community is so amazing for sharing about her book and her story. Anyway, I heard a lot of good things about this book so I decided to check it out, and I didn’t go wrong with this book. This review is for my re-read already.

The Cover: I love the cover! It’s definitely pretty. I like the whole composition of it. It’s just so gorgeous. And I like how the pig is there too. It’s perfect for the story – it really fits. I can definitely imagine the world around this cover. Though the girl reminds me of a younger Liv Tyler (I only know her because of The Lord of the Rings movies). Although the cover is too similar to Snow White and the Huntsman that I mistook it for a copy in our bookstore. I almost squealed with glee to find Poison, but ended up seeing Snow White instead.

The Composition: This book was amazing! It’s a little bit like reading a Disney children’s movie, and those are always great and lovable (except for the sequels. haha!). There was even a song! Oh wait, this book was published by Disney Hyperion – makes sense. (Sorry, I was a Disney child) It is set in the Kingdom of Mohr, where there are royalties, potioners, evil villains, hermits, witches, gypsies, and other magical beings. This book is a definite page-turner. The pacing was perfect that you could read with such ease and not get bored. It was filled with a lot of twists and turns that will keep you guessing. I was surprised a lot by what happened. What more, this book will answer most, if not all, of your questions, and still leave you wanting more. Everything falls into place perfectly. Poison is made up of interesting characters, romance, humor, action, adventure, and so much more. I loved it even during my second time reading it. Who wouldn’t want to read about a teenage Princess Killer?

The Characters: I think this was one of the best parts of this book – great characters.

Kyra is a wonderful main character. She is strong, witty, and funny. And she is definitely a person who can defend herself. She is skilled in combat and poison weaponry. Her intentions always mean well even though she has an unorthodox way of achieving her goals. She makes a lot of mistakes along the way, but she tries to mend them, and most often than not, succeeds. I think that she is a lovable character with a lot of intricacies. A lot of things happened to her and she pulled through perfectly.

The Couple: Fred and Kyra were simply adorable. Their encounters are filled with playful banter that will make you laugh out loud. And Fred is simply just so sweet and caring. I think he was very much taken with Kyra. But it’s never smooth sailing when you’re living your life as an assassin or loving one for that matter. There was a lot of pining and sweet moments, and there are moments that will make you swoon. I love this pairing, and I loved how everything turned out between them.

Rosie and Langley were a cute couple too. Haha!

The Charm: What’s not to love? This book was so good. The parts I really liked were probably the ones that made me laugh. It’s very entertaining. I think my favorite part is how Fred and Kyra first met.

**************************************************

The Conclusion: This book is a whole world of entertainment in less than 300 pages. Bridget Zinn is a Potions Master for her writing – mixing the right ingredients to create the perfect story. In my own personal opinion, this is a really good book that everyone must read.

RATING:5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

