Book Review: Sophie Kinsella’s Remember Me?

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Remember Me?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Published: February 26, 2008
Publisher: Dell
ISBN13: 9780440242406
Format: Paperback
Series: N/A
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

When twenty-eight-year-old Lexi Smart wakes up in a London hospital, she’s in for a big surprise. Her teeth are perfect. Her body is toned. Her handbag is Vuitton. Having survived a car accident—in a Mercedes no less—Lexi has lost a big chunk of her memory, three years to be exact, and she’s about to find out just how much things have changed. Somehow Lexi went from a twenty-five-year-old working girl to a corporate big shot with a sleek new loft, a personal assistant, a carb-free diet, and a set of glamorous new friends. And who is this gorgeous husband—who also happens to be a multimillionaire? With her mind still stuck three years in reverse, Lexi greets this brave new world determined to be the person she…well, seems to be. That is, until an adorably disheveled architect drops the biggest bombshell of all. Suddenly Lexi is scrambling to catch her balance. Her new life, it turns out, comes complete with secrets, schemes, and intrigue. How on earth did all this happen? Will she ever remember? And what will happen when she does?

banner-book-babble

The Commencement: I bought this book because I love Sophie Kinsella’s Confessions of a Shopaholic and I’ve Got Your Number so I had high hopes for this book. I bought this book the day of my break up so I had high hopes for it to cheer me up and make me feel light and fluffy like Kinsella’s other books.

The Cover: The covers for Sophie Kinsella’s books are really plain and simple. They fit well in the adult or romance genres that don’t need to be all flashy. They can be pretty, but not stunning.

The Composition: This book was not what I expected it to be. It started out really great. I enjoyed it a lot, but it started spiraling down somewhere along the pages. It got too frustrating for me. And I did not like the ending that much. It can be considered a happy ending, but it makes no sense to me how they arrived there. It’s like “Sorry. This isn’t working out. BAM! Happily ever after~” Despite that, I still enjoyed parts of the book. Sophie Kinsella’s humor always shines through. A lot of the chapters were entertaining enough to pull you to the next one.

The Characters:

Lexi Smart had retrograde amnesia, and she wakes up losing 3 years of her life. But she has changed so much since then so she had a lot to deal with. She kept on insisting that her life was not her own because she couldn’t recognize it. I guess I understand that, but it can be so frustrating sometimes. Maybe I would be frustrated too if I ever ended up in her situation. But she can be so blind about her own situation. She doesn’t see what’s right in front of her eyes.

So here we have a love triangle – two guys, one girl. Eric, Lexi’s husband, was one crazy guy. He is obsessed with cleanliness and his work, and barely cares for anything else. he just kept on ignoring Lexi. I do not understand how Lexi was able to stay with him for 2 years. Jon, the architect, was really mysterious and a little too forceful. He kept on forcing Lexi to remember their relationship. He was really nice and sweet too though, but I didn’t really form any attachment with him.

Her family was not the best support system. Lexi’s mum was a crazy character. (I cannot remember her name. Sorry!) She only cared about her dogs and she hid so much from her daughter. She got too stuck in the past and she wasn’t even the one with amnesia. Mum’s should not simply give up when they have children to take care of. Amy, Lexi’s sister, was a horrible kid. She took advantage of her amnesiac sister and she kept on swindling people. Her old friends and coworkers were quite mean to her too, but I guess we cannot really blame them that much.

The Couple: Erm. I’m not too fond of the romance in this book. While Jon can be alluring at times, I just don’t get him. I also don’t get how things worked out for them in the end. How did that happen?! Is it really that easy to fall for someone you can’t remember?

The Charm: You can never go wrong with Kinsella’s humor. I can always count on her to make me laugh. The part I really liked about this book though is the fact that it made me reflect on how we all change throughout the years. Sometimes we can’t believe that our pasts were the people we used to be. Sometimes we change for the worst and sometimes for the better. That’s life.

I also wonder if it’s better to only part of your memory or all of it. Lexi kept on struggling because she had this idea of herself and she has changed so much since. Would it have been less frustrating if she knew nothing about herself at all?

**************************************************

The Conclusion: As much as I love Sophie Kinsella, this book didn’t work as well as I would have wanted. We can still find her humor and wonderful writing, but there are some things that are left to be undesired. Overall, it was still a good book. It just wasn’t for me. I do not want to remember Remember Me?

RATING:

3-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
4 thoughts on “Book Review: Sophie Kinsella’s Remember Me?

  1. I’ve never read any of Kinsella’s books before but I’ve seen her name around. I’m sorry this one didn’t quite work for you. I’m not sure I like the sound of how easy it was for the characters to come together in the end, I think I’ll pass on this one. Great review.

Leave a Reply

