Book Review: Karla J. Nellenbach’s Always and Forever

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: Always and Forever
Author: Karla J. Nellenbach
Published: September 18, 2012
Publisher: Booktrope Editions
ASIN: B009D6JCWO
Format: epub
Series: N/A
Acquisition: Won from a giveaway

Purchase at: Amazon

Mia’s first reaction is outright disbelief. Obviously, a mistake has been made. Sixteen-year-old girls don’t die. But, when the diagnosis is confirmed, she dives headlong into anger. If she has to die, why should it be of cancer? In fact, anything would be preferable to cancer. Better for her to say when, where, and especially how.
Determined to meet death on her own terms, Mia devises scheme after scheme to get the job done. A “fall” down the basement stairs, driving her car off a bridge, and even a dance with a train all end in her survival.
And through it all, Mia keeps her family and friends at arms’ length with her destructive and hurtful behavior. With each failed suicide attempt and burned relationship, she slowly realizes that it’s not the dying that she’s afraid of, but the life she’ll be leaving behind. Now, that life is in a shambles. As time begins to slip through her fingers and death is upon her, Mia fights to rebuild the bridges she has destroyed, but can she do it before the clock runs out?

Beautiful. Powerful. Heart-wrenching. PERFECT!

banner-book-babble

The Commencement: I won this book from Tumbling Book‘s Author Feature and Giveaway, and I was given a free epub file. I knew nothing about the book or the author until that blogpost. And I probably would have taken a longer time before reading it had I not won the giveaway. But that would have been a huge mistake in my life. So I profusely thank Nancy from Tumbling Books and Karla Nellenbach for the giveaway. This is not an obligatory review. I write it with my own will and love for the book.

The Cover: I’m not really sure why they chose that for the cover. It’s beautiful, but I’m not sure if it’s an allusion to something because that scene was a very small part of the book.

The Composition: The only problem with this book were a couple of typos along the way. Apart from that, I think it’s perfect. This was one emotional roller coaster ride, but it was one of the best rides of my life. I don’t think I have ever been so affected by a book in my life. It was just amazing. Never have I encountered a book that just made me tear up so much, and make me laugh out loud a lot too. I am very much affected by this book that I don’t think I can do any justice to it. If you think The Fault in Our Stars and Hopeless were amazing, you better look again. My chest hurts so much from my aching heart. I’m sorry. This book just made me so emotional. I like how the author used the five stages of grief to divide the parts in the story. I think it’s something a lot of people go through in coping. These five stages can be frustrating sometimes, especially the denial and anger part, but it just happens. I guess it helps too. I know it’s awful when some authors are redundant, but I liked how Karla kept on repeating “Always and forever.” It feels true – that it really will be always and forever.

The Characters: Karla Nellenbach will make you love her characters, hate them, and love them all over again. I cannot believe how much I felt for each and everyone of them. I won’t talk much about them, but please do meet them. Mia was cruel, frustrating, and overall lovable. Kal (Mia’s best friend) was awesome. Benj, Mia’s sister was simply a sweetheart (I love him to bits). Mia’s parents were amazing, especially her dad. Brad (Mia’s gay friend) and Dave (Brad’s boyfriend) were simply adorable, funny, and wonderful.

The Couple: Oh gosh. Kal was amazing. Can I have my own please? He was so sensitive, loving, and caring. He’s not perfect, but I still want one! Kal and Mia have been best friends their whole life and have been in love for most, if not all, of it. I just love Kal’s dedication to Mia, despite everything that happened or is happening. Their relationship wasn’t perfect, but it was enough for me.

The Charm: If I still haven’t been clear enough, I think this book is perfect. I loved the characters, the storyline, the humor, the emotional ups and downs – everything. My favorite part was the ending, even though it made me cry so much.

**************************************************

The Conclusion: You need this book. I need this book. Read it. I really love Always and Forever, and I cannot emphasize that enough. This book will make you laugh, cry, love, and so much more. Never have I ever wanted to share about a book in my life. Always and forever~

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, but some may be subject to editing.
6 thoughts on “Book Review: Karla J. Nellenbach’s Always and Forever

  1. Wow, that’s a really strong reaction to the book. Which means that I MUST read it! It sounds really interesting and beautiful. 🙂 Great review, Francine!

Leave a Reply

