Book Review: Amy Evan’s Clicks

17596261

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Clicks
Author: Amy Evans
Published: June 18, 2013
Publisher: Amy Evans Ink
ASIN: B00DGI602U
Format: Kindle edition
Series: The Pinhold Prophecy
Acquisition: Won from a giveaway

Purchase at: Amazon

Clicks are the sounds the universe makes when it stops to tell you what’s going to happen next. Truths you hear in your heart that you can’t explain.
For sixteen year old Cami, the clicks won’t stop. They’re telling her to fall in love with the wrong twin, that her family is hiding something, and that Pinhold, her pristine Island home, is in danger.
Born and bred to win, Cami’s family expects her to join a secret society called The Guard, marry one of the two identical twin boys next door, and stay on Pinhold Island for the rest of her life. Home to perfect waves, black sand beaches, and the world-famous Surf Carnival, Pinhold seems deceptively perfect. While visitors are jealous of the few hundred people who get to live there, Cami feels stifled. Thanks to the intense link she shares with her own twin, Mica, she can’t even be alone with her thoughts. While Cami’s more than happy to be a lifeguard, a lifelong commitment to the endless summer feels like a trap.
It should have been a fun summer of surf competitions and beach patrol. But dolphins are washing up on shore and the best swimmers are drowning. Then her twin brother Mica goes down too.
The only thing that can save her brother is the truth that only Cami can learn. But can she trust the clicks?

banner-book-babble

The Commencement: I won this book from Read-a-Thon Central‘s Greased Lightnin’ Twitter Party. I love the cover! It looks cool and very pretty~ I knew nothing about the book or the author until the Summer Lovin’ read-a-thon. The author so kindly sent a copy to my Kindle, which I really appreciate because I’m not fond of other formats. This is not an obligatory review. I write it out of my own will and with my sincerest feelings for the book.

The Composition: I think this is a great summer read if you like reading about islands, beaches, swimming, surfing, and such. I’m not that kind of person though, but I was still able to read this with ease. This was very much an effortless read, despite all the science talk. It was definitely not what I expected it to be after looking at the cover and the synopsis. The plot took a turn that I wasn’t expecting so much. I know that the author was building connections already, but I had to read it all to know what exactly happened. The idea of the story is very original, but I could not take it seriously. I find the occurrences (I won’t tell you what happened) a little too silly, and I think it would be better off as a children’s book instead of a young adult one. You just need to remove all the kissing and boy-watching, and the whole story would pretty much work out. Or maybe that’s just me. It was still entertaining overall.

P.S. This book has a LOT of typos. I hope someone would fix it and update all the copies.

The Characters: I like Amy’s use of anagrams for the names for all the twins. I find it amusing, and it makes it easier to remember their names. There were 4 sets of twins mentioned in the book, and a handful of other characters too. I think that most of the characters have been well thought out, and given a personality that one can pinpoint to its character. They were easy to get to know.

In the story, we follow Cami’s quest into finding out the secrets of the island, as she tries to save those she cares about. Cami is a smart and athletic 17-year-old with a twin brother, Mica. She was a really good sister and friend. She tries her best to help when no one else seemed to bother. She makes mistakes, but redeems herself in the end. Although I’m not very fond of her short temper tantrum somewhere along the story. I think it was too irrational to put the blame on other people. Other than that, her story was fun to follow.

The Couple: Cami falls in love with her twin’s best friend, Blake. Cami spends a lot of time admiring Blake’s swimming, and I couldn’t really relate to that because it’s not something I would care much for. They were still a good couple as Blake is very caring and understanding, and Cami finds comfort in him. I find Blake to be a really sweet guy. You can feel the attraction they have for each other. There was definitely a lot of kissing and teasing.

**************************************************

The Conclusion: If you are a big fan of beaches and hunky swimmers, then this is the book for you. You will find action, adventure, science fiction and romance all in one book. It is a light and easy read that will entertain you.

RATING:

3.5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, but some may be subject to editing.
One thought on “Book Review: Amy Evan’s Clicks

Leave a Reply

