Book Review: Lea Nolan’s Conjure

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: Conjure
Author: Lea Nolan
Published: October 8, 2012
Publisher: Entangled Teen
ASIN: B009NY42GM
Format: Kindle Edition
Series: The Hoodoo Apprentice
Acquisition: Won from a giveaway

Purchase at: Amazon

Be careful what you search for…
Sixteen-year-old twins Emma and Jack Guthrie hope for a little summer adventure when they find an eighteenth-century message in a bottle revealing a hidden pirate treasure. With their best friend—and Emma’s secret crush—Cooper Beaumont, they discover the treasure, and accidentally unleash an ancient Gullah Hoodoo curse that attacks Jack with the wicked flesh-eating Creep and promises to steal Cooper’s soul on his approaching sixteenth birthday.
Determined to save the two people she loves the most, Emma apprentices herself to an elderly sea island hoodoo root doctor who agrees to teach her the magic to undo the hex while she works to unravel the riddle of the pirate’s message. With the clock ticking down to Cooper’s birthday and Jack turning into a walking skeleton, Emma must hone her new skills to conjure visions of the past to discover the curse’s origins, steal an antique ruby, battle a horde of terrifying demon dogs, and summon ancient spirits who can help set things right before it’s too late

banner-book-babble

The Commencement: I won this book from the last YA Scavenger Hunt. I wasn’t really expecting to win anything so when Lea Nolan tweeted me, I was so ecstatic. I like free things~ Although I was quite uncertain about liking the book because I didn’t know much about it, and I’m not into voodoo or those kinds of things. So it took me a while before reading it after I received it. But that was a huge mistake, because I LOVED this book. I read this book 2 or 3 months ago, but I read it again recently. I still loved it the second time around, and I hope my review will do it justice. I send my utmost appreciation to Lea Nolan for the book. This is not an obligatory review. I write it out of my own will and love for the book.

The Cover: Okay, I’ll be honest. I did not like the cover. Another reason why I didn’t want to read this book. In my defense, I viewed it on my phone Kindle App only, and it’s really dark so I cannot really make out what was on it. I didn’t even realize that the girl was blonde. I thought it was just a hooded figure. But getting a closer view, it is kind of pretty. I just don’t know who the blonde girl is supposed to be and what she’s doing there. It may possibly be Emma.

The Composition: Lea Nolan definitely knows how to end her chapters. I kept on saying “I’ll sleep after this chapter” but when I get to the end of the chapter I’m like “What? What happens next? What’s happening?” And I just kept on reading, even during the second time around when I already know what’s happening next. I love her writing. It’s definitely captivating and entertaining. Her writing made it all so believable. Everything just made sense for me, even though it’s fictional. It’s filled with a lot of surprises that I never would have guessed. I simple enjoy reading Conjure. Maybe Lea Nolan used some hoodoo magic on it so that I would love it so much (just kidding).

Lea Nolan’s writing is very detailed. When she describes the flesh-eating curse effects on Jack, I was REALLY grossed out, just like the other characters who had to deal with it. I was also freaked out by the things that were happening (I get scared easily). This is definitely not the kind of book that I would normally love. However, I cannot, for the life of me, seem to stop reading it. I just really loved it and I like authors who broaden my horizons.

The Characters:

Emmaline Claire Guthrie, aka Emma, is a very young protagonist at only fourteen years old, but I tend to forget that because she seems a lot more mature than her age. I love how she reasons out things, and her snarky thoughts are definitely entertaining. She bore a lot of the burden because she cared so much for her brother and best friend. She had to be strong, determined and secretive, even when it was really hard on her.

Jack was an emotional wreck. Although I do not really blame him because he had a curse to deal with. But I think he should have watched his temper because he was the one who was adamant in finding the treasure that caused his curse in the first place. He’s also your typical sibling that teases the other, and being the dominant one, he easily influences others.

Cooper is Emma and Jack’s best friend that they only see during the summer. He is you typical hottie – tall, toned body, beautiful hair and eyes. But he’s also kind and caring. He’s the heir to a big estate, where Emma and Jack’s dad is the caretaker. His only problem is that his family is cursed.

I love Miss Delia! She’s the hoodoo root doctor that took in Emma as an apprentice. She’s a fun, wise old lady. I don’t know why, but I imagine her to look like the witch in Brave, the Disney movie. Only taller.

Oh, and you’ll meet a mysterious lady too~

The Couple: Emma has been in love with Cooper, and she spends a lot of time pining for him. I could definitely feel her attraction, and I loved Cooper too. They have sweet and cute little moments, and Cooper is definitely swoon-worthy, but also adorably dorky. I like that in a guy~ My favorite part in the book was there little visit to the museum, and also Chapter 22! ♥

The Charm: My favorite part is the acknowledgment page because it added my love for the book. I like how Lea Nolan had researched well about the Gullah and Hoodoo. I find it very interesting that she based her story on history. This was also a very unique read for me because I learned new things.

**************************************************

The Conclusion: I definitely recommend this book. The story is exciting, entertaining, and riveting. You will find fantasy, action, romance, magic and so much more all in one book. I would definitely read the next book. In fact, I can’t wait!

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, but some may be subject to editing.
4 thoughts on “Book Review: Lea Nolan’s Conjure

Leave a Reply

