ARC Review: The Truth About You and Me

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: The Truth About You and Me
Authors: Amanda Grace (Mandy Hubbard)
Publication Date: September 8, 2013
Publisher: Flux
Format: eARC
Acquisition: Netgalley

Purchase at: Amazon ll The Book Depository

Smart girls aren’t supposed to do stupid things.
Madelyn Hawkins is super smart. At sixteen, she’s so gifted that she can attend college through a special program at her high school. On her first day, she meets Bennet. He’s cute, funny, and kind. He understands Madelyn and what she’s endured – and missed out on – in order to excel academically and please her parents. Now, for the first time in her life, she’s falling in love.
There’s only one problem. Bennet is Madelyn’s college professor, and he thinks she’s eighteen – because she hasn’t told him the truth.
The story of their forbidden romance is told in letters that Madelyn writes to Bennet – both a heart-searing ode to their ill-fated love and an apology.

banner-book-babble

First off, I would like to thank Flux for the free copy. I chose to request this book from Netgalley mostly because of the cover, because it is really beautiful. I seriously love it. I think it sets the mood for the whole book. However, I think that the colors are too warm for a story that was set during fall to winter. I was also intrigued by her attraction to her college professor. Let’s face it – there are a couple of cute professors in our universities or colleges.

Since this is only an ARC, I hope that the publishers would run this book through editing one more time before releasing it. There are far too many typos, and it seriously needs some line breaks. The story was told through three letters that Madelyn wrote for Bennet. The first letter was 78% of the book, and that’s quite alright. My only problem was that there wasn’t any breaks in between certain paragraphs so you were jumping from scene to scene. There wasn’t any space for breathing. I know that it’s supposed to be a letter, but it felt like it was drowning me. It was just a little too overwhelming. It was just too long to take in all at once. Although it is probably questionable as to how Madelyn was able to write that very detailed story. She must have had the memory of an elephant, but then again, she’s supposed to be really smart.

Apart from that, I think that The Truth About You and Me was well-written. I like highlighting my books when there are quotes that I particularly like, and I found myself highlighting a lot from my copy of this book. There was also subtle humor, interesting scenes, philosophizing, etc. that kept me flipping the pages. I mostly finished the whole thing in one sitting.

This isn’t simply a romantic tale. It is about a love that was found and badly lost. This book follows the tale of Madelyn as she recounts what exactly happened between her and Bennet. She talks about a forbidden romance that tragically falls apart. But it is more than that. It also dwells on self-discovery, and how people affect each other to push them into the paths that they choose. It follows Madelyn’s journey into dealing with the pressure of being a really smart girl. I can relate to this because I have felt how people can stress you with their expectations. People find escapes in different ways, and sometimes it can lead to a catastrophe.

I think that Madelyn was selfish for being inconsiderate how Bennet would be affected by a relationship with her. She didn’t care enough to even let him know the truth. She only cared about herself, and how she feels when she’s around him. I guess love is just sometimes hard to explain. Although I think Madelyn’s whole family is filled with selfish people. Her parents only cared about themselves, and how they planned their children’s futures without even considering what they wanted. I found myself relating to Madelyn in that respect – how we can be lost and how others keep on pushing us into things that we never desired.

**************************************************

OVERALL, I think that I am quite neutral about this book. I didn’t hate it, but it’s not something I would go ecstatic over and spazz and share with whoever. I guess I just wasn’t that into it, but I think that it is still a good book all together so I still give it a good rating. What I liked most about the book is how I related to it, and how it got me thinking.

RATING:

3.5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

