Random Ramblings: Cover Conundrum

banner-random-ramblings

Random Ramblings: Talking about random thoughts on books, blogging, myself, the world, etc. Anything under the sun~

break-1

So I recently got books from Netgalley, and I recently did a review on The Truth About You and Me by Amanda Grace. After that, I started reading Saving Wishes by G.J. Walker-Smith (which I’ll be reviewing soon) that I absolutely loved so I decided to look into the next books in the series. And man oh man was I surprised…

Okay. I am seriously freaking out. How in the world did two different books end up with the same cover? How is that even possible? Is this picture out for free to use by anyone at all? It’s clearly the same picture even though the editing was different! I don’t think this should be allowed AT ALL. I really wonder who is at fault here. Shouldn’t someone know about this? Should I tell Flux or G.J. Walker-Smith? I don’t think it’s right that they have the same cover. People could buy the wrong book by mistake or something… This is definitely disconcerting.

cover29314-medium17570691

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

10 thoughts on “Random Ramblings: Cover Conundrum

  1. A couple of years ago I came across two books with the same cover on Goodreads and somebody said that the picture really is available for anybody to use. I agree that it’s weird and kinda confusing. I find it hard to believe that the authors want their book to have the same cover as some other book.
    That said, I prefer the first cover 🙂

  2. Hi Francine,
    I have stumbled across the twin cover to my book. For an author, it’s a bit sad but hard to avoid unless you’re using your own cover model. The photo was a stock photo that was used by my graphic designer. We pay a fee for the picture but not exclusivity.
    Second Hearts was released April 4 so its been out for a while. My readers are familiar with it and I’d feel bad changing it now.
    I think we both wear it well…..but I kinda like the second one better 😉

    • Oohh. I see. That’s sad. I guess there’s nothing we can do about that.
      Oh, I love your book and writing better. I’ll ramble about that on my next review. I plan to buy Second Hearts soon, and I’m definitely looking forward to the release of the third book. 😀

Leave a Reply

