ARC Review: Amanda Sun’s Ink

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

recommendedTitle: Ink
Authors: Amanda Sun
Publication Date: July 5, 2013
Publisher: Harlequin UK – Mira Ink
Series: Paper Gods
Format: eARC

Acquisition: Netgalley

Purchase at: Amazon ll The Book Depository

A MAGIC MIGHTIER THAN ANY SWORD
A DESTINY THAT CAN’T BE DENIED

Katie Greene is lost in the wake of her mum’s death. Sent to Japan, she meets gorgeous but aloof artist Tomohiro, whose tough attitude intrigues and scares her. Then things get really strange. When they’re near each other, Tomohiro’s drawings start to come to life…
Soon the wrong people begin to ask questions, and Katie and Tomohiro must risk everything to protect the truth.

banner-book-babble

I LOVE the art for Ink! The cover is just so lovely, and the book content has its own sketches as well to show some of Tomohiro’s drawings. I received the ARC for the UK version so the cover is different. I’m not sure if the sketches are different too because I haven’t really seen the US version. I might buy it though if I find a copy here. I was quite intrigued upon knowing about this book, and I am glad that I was given an opportunity to check it out so I thank Harlequin UK for approving my Netgalley request.

Reading this book felt so much like watching anime. I think that this book has been well-researched in terms of the setting and the Japanese characters in the book. The writing is beautifully descriptive and engaging. Amanda Sun is a paper god who paints out her scenes and characters and makes them come to life in a very pleasant way. The book gripped me more as the story developed. BUT I could go without the excessive language switching. She would claim that the english lines are the characters speaking in Japanese, but then she would still insert a LOT of Japanese words. I kind of liked them, but some of them seemed too unnecessary. I cannot even remember most of the words she used, and I was surprised to find them on the glossary, which is another thing I’m not quite fond of. I think she should have sticked with words or phrases that are important to the story and defined them along the way so that it would have been easier to absorb. I do, however, love the Q&A that was found in the end of my copy. It gave me more insight on the author and the story.

This book rekindled my love for Japan. I used to watch a lot of anime and read manga before. I even tried learning the Japanese language. However, I started focusing on reading english books more, and I don’t see or know a lot of them that are set in Japan. What’s great about this book is that it is told in the perspective of an outsider or a foreigner to the country, which a lot of the readers are or will be. So I think it’s safe to say that people would be able to understand how difficult it is to immerse one’s self in a different culture, and what more, they have a different language and different characters for writing. It’s hard to memorize them – I’ve tried! And of course there’s some novelty to all the wonderful and unfamiliar things that Katie Greene finds in Japan. This book makes me want to study in Japan!

I like the the whole supernatural concept of this book. It’s based on Japanese mythological gods, known as kami in their language. I have been aware that kami means “god”, but I never knew that it also meant “paper” so that was definitely something new. I like how Amanda Sun worked from there to create the powers of the paper gods that are able to make their drawings on paper move. And they can use these powers for so much more than just that!

I love most of the characters in this book. Katie Greene definitely does not know how to prioritize. It’s so frustrating how she’s so hung up on Tomohiro that she resorts to stalking him, and she thinks about how much she likes him even in the face of danger. She is way to obsessed for my liking, but I don’t think she’s all that bad. She was fun to follow around despite being so exasperating. She reminds me of tsundere (starts out cold/sharp/sarcastic but warms up along the way) anime characters. I fell in love with Yuu Tomohiro! I was so doubtful about him during the first few pages, but getting to know him was wonderful. I like the playfulness between Katie and Tomo – they had a lot of adorable moments. The side characters were also wonderful.

This piece of paper is my favorite part of the book (of course, you’ll have to read Ink to know what it’s about. *wink*)suninkpicsbird

**************************************************

OVERALL, there were a couple of frustrating parts, but I loved this book anyway. I would definitely buy my own copy and read the next book! I think that it’s something that book lovers should try, especially those who also love Japan. It is also a great source for romance, humor, action, fantasy, and so much more.

RATING:

4-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Amanda Sun’s Ink

  1. I really enjoyed this one too! I completely agree with you about it feeling like an anime, I can totally picture it. I tried learning the Japanese language too…I kind of gave up because I honestly have no where to practice it so all I remember now is a few random words (thanks to Japanese dubbed shows) and how to count to 20. 😛

Leave a Reply

