ARC Book Review: Saving Wishes by G.J. Walker-Smith

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: Saving Wishes
Authors: G.J. Walker-Smith
Publication Date: February 10, 2013
Publisher: G.J. Walker-Smith
Series: The Wishes Series #1
Format: eARC

Acquisition: Netgalley

Purchase at: Amazon

For Charli Blake, being seventeen is a tough gig.
She’s been branded a troublemaker, her reputation is in tatters and she’s stuck in Pipers Cove, a speck of a town on the coast of Tasmania.
Thankfully, it’s temporary. Her lifelong dream of traveling the world is just months away from becoming reality. All she has to do is ride out the last few months of high school, which is easier said than done thanks to a trio of mean girls known as The Beautifuls.
When Adam Décarie arrives in town, all the way from New York, life takes an unexpected turn. His arrival sets off a chain of events that alters her life forever, convincing her of one thing. Fate brought him to her.
Saving Wishes is the story of a girl who doesn’t quite fit the life she’s living, and the boy who helps her realize why.

banner-book-babble

And here we find another book that I judged by the cover~ This was a free-for-all read on Netgalley so I thought I would try it out because the cover looked lovely. The synopsis was interesting too. Although I think that both are misleading. I thought I would find some heavy drama and whatnot, but I was wrong. I will admit that I was a little hesitant on reading this that’s why I picked it up last for my reading goals, but I was wonderfully amazed by Saving Wishes.

This book was set in Tasmania, Australia where the weather is cool and it unexpectedly rains most of the time. I was a little bit surprised by that because I always pictured Australia to be a hot and sunny place. (I seriously need to see the world). The characters live in a little community where everyone practically knows each other and word travels fast with a couple of busybodies who have this need to gossip. It doesn’t help that The Beautifuls are always spreading them. In this little world, Charli gains a bad reputation without even really doing anything wrong – she’s just different. But Charli rises above all of that, and simply lives out of the norms despite what other people might think of her. And I love her for that. This quote describes her well:

“Charlotte has a high tolerance for risk, she’s a slave to the sea, and she takes pictures of time.”

Saving Wishes defies sense and reason in a contemporary world, but Charli’s narration will make you believe in her magical world, which she calls La La Land. Charlotte Elisabeth Blake (Charli) is a 17-year-old who believes in fate, love at first sight, and happy endings. She is aware of how fast things change in the world, and she wants to capture those moments through her photography. I like how she thinks that it’s okay that time flies and things change as long as she was able to experience something within them. I think that Charli has a beautiful perception of the world, albeit being a little too crazy sometimes. I think she’s someone special for wanting to live outside the walls that society builds around her. But she still has insecurities where she pushes other people away, and she has the need to run away from things she can’t handle. Luckily, she has a great cast of supporting characters to help her along the way.

Alex is Charli’s awesome brother! I love him to pieces, and everyone else in town does, especially the ladies even when they’re too young for him. I loved him even more once his story unfurled. He is just awesome. From Alex to Charli: “Every single time you jump Charli, I will catch you.” He’s really just so sweet and trusting, and he makes me want to be Charli. And of course we can’t leave out our French-American love interest, Adam. He had his life all figured out, until he met Charli and things just changed for him. I just love Adam and Charli’s playful and witty conversations. Adam is generous, kind, and bookish (so plus points for him!) There are a couple of other characters, too, but you just have to meet them when you read the book.

**************************************************

OVERALL, I LOOOOVE Saving Wishes. It greatly exceeded my expectations, and I don’t think my review would do any justice to it. It made me laugh (and laugh some more), swoon, and think about the world. There were a lot of surprises and heart-stopping moments, and I simply had to keep on reading. This is a book that will make you want to keep on flipping the pages after the last one. So I simply must have the next books! If you love contemporary romance comedies then you might like this book.

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
4 thoughts on “ARC Book Review: Saving Wishes by G.J. Walker-Smith

Leave a Reply

