ARC Review: The Edge of Never by J.A. Redmerski

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: The Edge of Never
Authors: J.A. Redmerski
Publication Date: November 15, 2012
Publisher: Createspace
Series: The Edge of Never #1
Format: eARC

Acquisition: Netgalley

Purchase at: Amazon ll The Book Depository

Sometimes life takes you off course . . .
THE EDGE OF NEVER
Twenty-year-old Camryn Bennett thought she knew exactly where her life was going. But after a wild night at the hottest club in downtown Raleigh, North Carolina, she shocks everyone-including herself-when she decides to leave the only life she’s ever known and set out on her own. Grabbing her purse and her cell phone, Camryn boards a Greyhound bus ready to find herself. Instead, she finds Andrew Parrish.
Sexy and exciting, Andrew lives life like there is no tomorrow. He persuades Camryn to do things she never thought she would and shows her how to give in to her deepest, most forbidden desires. Soon he becomes the center of her daring new life, pulling love and lust and emotion out of her in ways she never imagined possible. But there is more to Andrew than Camryn realizes. Will his secret push them inseparably together-or destroy them forever?
Due to sexual content and language, this book is recommended for 17+ – Adult Contemporary Women’s – New Adult Fiction

banner-book-babble

And here we find another book that I judged by the cover so I made it part of one of my reading goals~ This was a free-for-all read on Netgalley so I thought I would try it out because the cover looked lovely. But that is how far you should go with this book. It is definitely not worth reading and I regretted even downloading and reading it. This book made me want to cry at how badly written it was. I’m not claiming to be a good writer, but sheesh, even I know there’s something wrong with this writing. I just couldn’t stand it! I HATED IT! But I forced myself to finish it so that I can make a proper review. Unfortunately, I don’t think I can make one. All I have is a lot of rants for The Edge of Never.

I think that this book is so poorly written that I couldn’t even bother to care about the characters or the story. I was so BORED the whole time. I feel that Camryn’s life or her perceptions were too overdramatized. I honestly do not understand how anyone could give this book 5 stars. I cannot count how many times I rolled my eyes at the ridiculous lines. That’s pretty much the only reaction I had for this book – eye-rolling. Mostly I just kept a straight face because I was too bored. This is a book that tells the story in two perspectives, which can be really be good. But there was this one part where I thought,”Uuuhhh. Hello? I just read that grueling last chapter and you need to repeat the whole situation again? Why?” Her writing is so redundant. Her attempt at humor fell flat. And let’s not forget the over-the-top lines: “There’s a flutter inside my chest, just between my breasts behind my ribcage.” Even the sex scenes didn’t rouse anything from me. In fact, they were just ridiculous and boring. I won’t talk about the ending, but I hated that too, especially how the last chapter transitioned into the epilogue.

One thing I noticed is that Redmerski seems to be using one word a lot – spat (of air, of whatever, etc). What does it even mean? Does anyone know? Because when I look it up on the dictionary, these are the definitions I come up with: “past and past participle of spit,” “(usu. spats) historical a short cloth gaiter covering the instep and ankle,” “a cover for the upper part of an aircraft wheel,” “a petty quarrel,” “quarrel pettily,” and “the spawn or larvae of shellfish, esp. oysters.” So what the heck does it mean to let out a spat of air? Because she surely uses it a lot on this book. Is there some other meaning to this word that I don’t know about?

After reading this book, these are things that I think Camryn and Andrew would think or say, which should pretty much sum up my thoughts on the characters. Sometimes they do actually say it in the book. The ones in quotation marks are direct quotes from the books. The ones in parentheses would be my extra thoughts~

Camryn:

  • My BEST FRIEND since second grade is a slutty bitch. I’m so much better than her~ All the girls in the world are sluts. I’m the best girl in the world! I am so smart and perceptive~
  • People don’t know what depression is. I know what depression really feels like and no one needs to take any pills.
  • Fast food, soda, junk food, etc. are so gross, but I will eat/drink them when no one’s there to see.
  • Thank you for helping me contemplate my life, Andrew. Now will you fuck me to actually make the world better?
  • My best friend was a bitch to me so I should punish her by not talking to her for so long, but I’ll make her get on a plane to go across the country for me when things go wrong.

Andrew:

  • Hey Camryn, that pervert on the bus has been watching you all this time, but you don’t need to know about it. I’ll watch him until I need to leave you so that he can harass you when I’m gone.
  • I have to be Mr. Tough Guy so I shouldn’t model. I’ll just work as a mechanic. (What’s wrong with modelling?)
  • Camryn, tell me everything about you! Now! But I won’t tell you anything about me~ Even when my life is at stake.
  • Let me own you goddammit so I don’t have to fucking leave you and I can finally have sex with you! (Whaaat)
  • SHIT. FUCK. SHIT. FUCK. DAMN. SHIT. FUCK. DAMN. FUCK. SHIT. FUCK. “We look almost exactly alike with the same brown hair and crazy fucking dimples.” (What.) (Why does he keep on swearing every time?)

Well, that’s all I can think of right now, and I don’t think I’d want to waste any more of my time for this book so I shall end it here.

**************************************************

OVERALL, there are just too many things that are wrong with this book. This is just one of the worst books I’ve read, and I really hate it. No offense meant to people who actually loved this. I just cannot take it at all. And now, I am afraid to ever read anything from J.A. Redmerski. Are her other books any better? I honestly do not understand her way of thinking after reading this book.

RATING:

0.5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This review is not meant to hurt the author in any way. This is my honest opinion on what I have read.
  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

