ARC Review: Pirouette by Robyn Bavati

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Pirouette
Authors: Robyn Bavati
Publication Date: November 8, 2013
Publisher: Flux
Format: eARC

Acquisition: Netgalley

Purchase at: Amazon ll The Book Depository

Adopted as babies by two different families, Simone and Hannah have never known they are identical twins. Simone has been raised as a dancer, but she hates performing. Hannah loves nothing more than dance, but her parents see it as just a hobby. When the two girls meet for the first time at the age of fifteen, they decide to swap places to change the role dance plays in their lives. Yet fooling their friends and family is more challenging than either girl expected, and they’re both burdened by the weight of their lies.
How long can Hannah and Simone keep pretending? What will happen when the truth is revealed?

banner-book-babble

Thinking Parent Trap? Funny enough, Robyn Bavati mentions that movie in the book. Maybe we can think of this as a retelling of one of our childhood movies (if you’re part of my generation anyway). It’s quite different though despite the few similarities. I think that Robyn Bavati knows her teen movies because she made a lot of references to them in the book. I particularly like pop culture references so that was a plus for me.

Hannah and Simone are very identical twins, but are completely two different people. Due to the orphanage policies, they were forced to grow up separately without even knowing about each other. That is until they met at the Candance summer camp. The story is quite simple really. They get to know each other while they are at Candance. They want each other’s lives so they trade and come home to each other’s families. But things don’t work out the way they wanted. The plot is very much predictable, and I wish that Robyn Bavati gave more of her spin into a story like this.

I am very much hopeful that this book isn’t the final version because I think that it would suit it better if it were more developed. According to Goodreads, this book is 312-pages long, but reading it felt a lot shorter than that and I’m not really sure why. I think that the book started out really great, but it started becoming draggy somewhere along the middle. There just wasn’t really much to go on. The love interests in the book were like side notes only. I didn’t really get to know them much so I didn’t really fall in love with them. Their set of friends weren’t given much character either. Simone’s mother might need some more highlighting too, and I don’t have much to say about Hannah’s mother – the typical have-you-eaten kind. Robyn Bavati was able to make me smile and interested enough for some part, but I really wanted more. I think the author is capable of writing better because of the few shining moments that I found in this book. And I think it wouldn’t hurt if there was added humor.

Considering how the twins lives revolve around dancing, there were a lot of dancing terms in the book, mostly classical ballet. I’ve always wanted to try ballet, but I do not know the terms, and I’m not sure if mentioning the name of the moves is enough to gain interest from a reader. I think it’s very tricky to write books about dancing or music, and it would be great if more emotions were put into it. I wish that the passion or beauty for dancing shone through more. I’d like to be a dancer, even if it’s just in my imaginations. I need more oomph!

If I were one of the twins, I would definitely be Simone Stark. She is the shy, reserved and awkward twin who loves reading and dreams of working with languages or editing books. However, her mother pushes her to become something that she doesn’t want at all – professional dancer. That is totally me! (not the dancer part though) Hannah Segal, on the other hand, is lively, outgoing, and confident. She loves dancing and she definitely wants to pursue a career in that particular field, but her parents think that it’s a waste of time.

The other two characters that I liked in this book were Hannah’s father and brother – Manfred and Adam. Manfred is the sweetest gentle giant ever. He’s really kind and caring, and gives bear hugs. He’s also the owner of a publishing company and he always brings home books for his family. I definitely want him for a father! Adam is more of your sweet little brother who loves hanging out with Hannah, even though he might be a little old for that.

**************************************************

OVERALL, I think the ideas in this book were great, but it needs a lot more flavor. I really hope that what I received wasn’t the final version of the book. However, I do not regret reading Pirouette. It was nice and light, and I was able to finish it effortlessly enough. I was able to connect with some of the characters. I give it a 3.5 rating~

RATING:

3.5-star

P.S. Thanks to Flux and Netgalley for my copy of Pirouette!

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

