Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass
Author: Lewis Carroll
Published: 1865
Publisher: Bantam Classics
ISBN13: 9780553213454
Format: Paperback
Series: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

In 1862 Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, a shy Oxford mathematician with a stammer, created a story about a little girl tumbling down a rabbit hole. Thus began the immortal adventures of Alice, perhaps the most popular heroine in English literature. Countless scholars have tried to define the charm of the Alice books–with those wonderfully eccentric characters the Queen of Hearts, Tweedledum, and Tweedledee, the Cheshire Cat, Mock Turtle, the Mad Hatter et al.–by proclaiming that they really comprise a satire on language, a political allegory, a parody of Victorian children’s literature, even a reflection of contemporary ecclesiastical history. Perhaps, as Dodgson might have said, Alice is no more than a dream, a fairy tale about the trials and tribulations of growing up–or down, or all turned round–as seen through the expert eyes of a child.

banner-book-babble

Okay. Let’s get things straight. I do not see myself as one astute enough to even critique a classic work. Therefore this is not much of a proper book review, but more of myself gushing on about how I felt about the book. I shall keep it short and sweet~

This is not what I expected, or rather, this is not what I remembered it to be. I’m not sure if I read a different version when I was a child, but I mostly remember the Disney movie so I guess that explains a great deal. I love Lewis Carroll’s writing – I think he’s brilliant. I’ll be honest – I didn’t really understand everything he talked about, but I was entertained nonetheless. He’s silly, but funny – so many puns and playful discourses. He also includes a couple of poems in the book. My favorite one is the rat tail/tale because I think that was really smart, and Jabberwocky because that poem garners sentimental value.

I want Alice’s imagination. As a child, I never really got very creative, and I like how Alice was able to dream of all these characters in this odd place. She’s smart and she knows it, but she is still a little child. Sometimes she acts like she knows so much and she has it all figured out, but there are also times when she feels helpless and feels like crying or whatever. However way she acts, I think that she is simply adorable. The other characters were fun and entertaining too. One thing that I didn’t like about my copy was that some of the illustrations were seriously creepy.

**************************************************

OVERALL, I was very entertained, even though it was a children’s book. I love Lewis Carroll’s quirky world. And Alice has always had a special place in my life. I cannot count how many times I dressed based on her depictions. In fact here are 2 photos that were taken just around 3 years ago (I was 17 at the time, even if I don’t look like it):

47990_1399028137945_2033133_n 59212_1399031618032_4636884_n

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
5 thoughts on “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass

  1. Pingback: Alice in the Looking Glass | Tattoo My Mind

  2. Alice is a seriously odd story, and I still haven’t read the second one. I intend to at some point, but it is one of those books that requires a very particular mood, in my opinion.
    I love the idea of Wonderland, and I must say I am a tad obsessed. if I had to change my name, I would definitely change it to Alice 😀
    And that Alice outfit is SO CUTE! Ohmygosh!

Leave a Reply

