Book Review: Gingerbread by Rachel Cohn

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Gingerbread
Author: Rachel Cohn
Published: May 25, 2004
Publisher: Simon Pulse
ISBN13: 9780689871139
Format: Paperback
Series: Cyd Charisse #1
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

“I will be as wild as I wanna be.”
After getting tossed from her posh boarding school, wild, willful, and coffee addicted Cyd Charisse returns to San Francisco to live with her parents. But there’s no way Cyd can survive in her parents’ pristine house. Lucky for Cyd she’s got Gingerbread, her childhood rag doll and confidante, and her new surfer boyfriend.
When Cyd’s rebelliousness gets out of hand, her parents ship her off to New York City to spend the summer with “Frank real-dad,” her biological father. Trading in her parents for New York City grunge and getting to know her bio-dad and step-sibs is what Cyd has been waiting for her whole life. But summer in the city is not what Cyd expects — and she’s far from the daughter or sister that anyone could have imagined.

banner-book-babble

So I chose to read this book mostly because of the last book, which is entitled Cupcake, and as a lover of sweets, I was pretty much sold. Also, I personally like Rachel Cohn for the books she wrote with David Levithan – Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares, and Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List. I also loved her dystopian book, Beta. So I had a lot of books that I was basing my expectations on, but this is one of her older books so I think she’s gone a long way from her earlier writing days.

When Cyd Chariss was very young, she had to move away from her biological dad. At the airport, her dad gives her a rag doll and freshly baked gingerbread. That was the last time she saw him for years so she kept the doll, and named her Gingerbread. I love how Cyd Charisse is a high school teenager that still keeps a doll that she talks to. I know most people outgrow that habit when they hit the teen years, but it didn’t stop Cyd Charisse, and I love her for it. I think she’s adorable.

I thought that this book would be a love story, considering the second book in the series is named after Cyd Charisse’s boyfriend. However, this first book in the series is not about romantic relationships, but more about self-discovery. Gingerbread is about Cyd Charisse learning about her biological dad’s family, but also knowing more about her real family with her biological mom. She also had a couple of bad encounters with a couple of guys, and she also feels like the odd one out of the family. Cyd Charisse spelled trouble, but she also had a lot of issues to deal with. The story mostly revolved around Cyd Charisse’s world with Gingerbread, her family, and her friends. I must say that there are a couple of good characters to meet in this book.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Cyd Charisse is very spunky, but also very charming. As I got to know her, I loved her more and more, and she simply won me over. I cannot say that this book is perfect, but I liked it anyway. I found myself wishing to be in her shoes sometimes (not the tragic parts of course). I think that I can relate to some of the things that she had to go through, and also the way she thinks. This book was definitely entertaining despite not being what I expected. Also, it is really short (around a little over than 200 pages) so it was an easy read.

RATING:

4-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
4 thoughts on “Book Review: Gingerbread by Rachel Cohn

  1. Great review, sums up the book nicely. I read this one it first came out, when I was in high school. I loved it. I read the first two, and somehow decided not to read cupcake. I think the space of their releases were long and I lost interest. I can’t quite remember. I do love her collaborations with David Levithan, another one of my favorite authors.

Leave a Reply

