Book Review: Click to Subscribe by L.M. Augustine

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: Click to Subscribe
Author: L.M. Augustine
Published: May 9, 2013
Publisher: L.M. Augustine
ASIN: B00COQNGPE
Format: Kindle Edition
Series: N/A
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

135,789. That’s how many subscribers sixteen-year-old West Ryder has on his web vlog series. But he only has eyes for one of them. 
As one of the internet’s most prestigious video bloggers, West talks about high school relationships under the name “Sam Green.” As far as he knows, no one from school, not even his best friend, Cat, has seen his videos. But the highlight of the whole thing is Harper Knight, who comments every day at exactly 2:02 in the afternoon. He doesn’t know anything about her aside from the occasional deep philosophical messaging on why pizza tastes so delicious, but as stupid as it sounds, he might be falling for her. So when they finally agree to meet in real life, West’s hope for romance seems more and more in reach. But that all changes as soon as he arrives at their meeting spot and sees Cat walking toward him, wearing the same “I ❤ Sam Green” T-shirt Harper promised she’d have on.
To his alarm, West realizes he is falling in love with the best friend who has always been a sister to him.

banner-book-babble

So I read this twice already and I still loved it the second time around. I think I even appreciated it more the second time because I was able to process the details more and understand everything better. And I was looking forward to the really awesome scenes that I loved.

I must confess. I have a crush on L.M. Augustine because of this book because I’ve never seen a male author write a character like West Ryder, and West was awesome. I’m not sure how L.M. Augustine’s personality is close to West’s personality, but I believe it’s pretty close. I wouldn’t really know, I barely know him from what I find on the internet, and it’s just a little crush~

I like how he is just straightforward about everything. I noticed on the first chapter that you would pretty much understand where West is coming from. In the first chapter, we find out that West is dealing with the loss of his mother and his vlog helps him. He says, “I get a camera and a broken heart.” I think that explains a lot about him already. And as the chapters progress, we find out more about his life. Along with the death of his mother, his drunk father completely shut him out, and they have this passive relationship towards each other. He had no one to hold on to, but his camera and his best friend. And then Harper Knight enters into the picture, but she wasn’t really one he could really keep in his life.

The story is told in West’s point of view so it’s mostly about his life and emotions. It is set in high school, but school was mostly just in the background as a part of his daily routine. Everything revolves more around West’s life at home, his vlog, and his little escapades with his best friend, Cat Davenport.

West is a dork and a spazz, but he is really adorable. He’s adorkable. I love him for his love of ice cream (even though I’m not a sprinkles person), and his outspoken and overconfident attitude towards Cat/Harper. He’s definitely fun and entertaining, but he also has an emotional side. He just feels lost sometimes. West is the kind of person that takes a lot of time to rein in his emotions so he ends up being confused. He’s afraid of losing anyone. And even though he can be so wrong sometimes, I do not think that we can really blame him, even though it can be frustrating sometimes. All things considered, I love West Ryder.

West and Cat have been best friends since they were little, and they were like siblings to each other. I don’t really understand how one could fall in love with someone you consider as a brother or sister already. I have a male best friend, and I can’t really see us in any kind of romantic relationship (even if we experimented a little). I’m not really a big fan of best friends turned to lovers, but I guess it would be nice to have someone who completely understands you and has been with you throughout your ups and downs. Like me, West couldn’t even begin to fathom a change in his relationship status with Cat, and that created conflict between them. But he really cares about Cat so he tries his best to work out their relationship.

I just have to say that it’s quite strange that his vlog didn’t reach any of his classmates considering the power of the Internet and how everything is so easily spread. Or maybe they know and they are not really making a big deal out of it? I’m not really sure. I also do not really get the “click to subscribe” idea about love – how it’s right in front of you and you just need to click to subscribe.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Click to Subscribe was honestly not what I expected it to be so I was not as pleased when I read it the first time, but when I learned to appreciate it for how it just is. I learned to love it more so my rating went up from a 4 to a 5. L.M. Augustine made me fall in love with West Ryder. He also made me laugh out loud and crave for ice cream, cake, chocolate, and all kinds of sweets. I definitely love both the author and the book.

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

