Book Review: Pivot Point by Kasie West

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: Pivot Point
Author: Kasie West
Published: February 12, 2013
Publisher: Harper Teen
ISBN13: 9780062117373
Format: Hardcover
Series: Pivot Point #1
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Knowing the outcome doesn’t always make a choice easier . . .
Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It’s the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie’s parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it’s not.
In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend. When Addie’s father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she’s unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through . . . and who she can’t live without.

banner-book-babble

I really enjoyed reading this book with its very interesting concept. It only took me a few hours and one sitting to finish it. Kasie West caught my attention, engrossed me in the story, made me laugh, made me fall in love, and broke my heart. Pivot Point was very entertaining, and I simply loved it. This is a great example of the kinds of YA books that I normally love. Also, I simply adore the cover~

What I really liked about Pivot Point were the chapter titles. Kasie West would give a word and then define it, and for the Search chapters, it would have NORM or PARA so that you know which path you are reading about. Sometimes there are puns too or just something that makes me laugh or entertained. I also like how their powers are limited to only what the mind could accomplish, and the terms were easy to remember.

Addie lives in the Compound where psychologically advanced humans reside, hiding away from the rest of humanity due to their unique abilities – Telepathy, Telekinesis, Mind Control, etc. Only few choose to live Outside because they have to hide away their talents from those who would take advantage of them. Addie’s father is one of those who chooses to live Outside, and he also chooses to divorce Addie’s mother. Now, Addie needs to decide whether she should go with her father to live with the Normals or stay in the Compound with her mother. But Addie has the advantage of her power – she can see the different paths in the future and how they would play out. But in the course of the story, we will find that making a choice is never too easy. In fact, it would be heartbreakingly difficult.

Addie is a Searcher – she can Search her future based on the two paths that will diverge from the point where she makes her decision. She is able to see what would happen if she chose one path over the other. I like how some things play out the same way even though they are happening in different paths. It shows how we do not have control over everything. Although there are some things revealed in one Search that has not been revealed yet in the other so I kept on internally shouting at Addie to tell her what to do. Not like that helps, but still, it was really exciting. What makes it worse/interesting is that Addie cannot change the future. She has to let it happen as she sees it. Her only hope is that one choice she makes.

I love Addie. She’s bookish and awkward, but also sassy. She also doesn’t like anyone controlling her or telling her what to do. She is totally my kind of person, and I could easily relate to her. And her best friend Laila was pretty nice too, despite being disloyal sometimes.

In Pivot Point, we find a love triangle without any actual rivalry because it doesn’t really happen until Addie chooses that path. It’s such a complicated romance to see how you would fall for two different guys, but can only choose one. And what if you cannot choose the one you love most? We have Duke, the paranormal football star of Lincoln High form the Compound. He’s overly confident, but with a sweet side. I don’t really care much for him. I am a Trevor fan all the way, but I ignore his Southern-ness. I don’t like the cowboy attires and the Southern drawl so I just imagine him as a normal tall, dark and handsome guy who is a talented comic book artist. Oh, and his little brother, Brody is really adorable~

**************************************************

OVERALL, I definitely loved this book and recommend for people to read it. Despite the mind powers, there isn’t much action in this book until near the end. It’s more about Addie’s life inside or outside of the compound. I think that this is a unique and refreshing read that a lot of YA lovers would enjoy. I would definitely read more from this author.

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
4 thoughts on “Book Review: Pivot Point by Kasie West

  1. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it, because this looks like such a good read! And I agree, the cover is superb 🙂
    I love the concept that someone can look into the two choices they can make, and what the future holds for each of those choices. I don’t know how I would cope with that, and I am interested to read how the author portrays it!

Leave a Reply

