Book Review: MILA 2.0 by Debra Driza

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Origins: The Fire
Author: Debra Driza
Published: January 8, 2013
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
ASIN: B00AMOC5Z2
Format: Kindle Edition
Series: MILA 2.0 #0.5
Acquisition: FREE ON AMAZON

Heart-stopping and electric, MILA 2.0: Origins: The Fire contains a short prequel story and an excerpt to MILA 2.0, the first book in a riveting Bourne Identity–style trilogy by Debra Driza.
Mila can’t remember anything before the fire that took her father’s life. It’s normal to have some memory loss after traumatic events, but Mila doesn’t remember if she’s ever learned to ride a bike, or if she’s ever been in love. Nothing.
What she doesn’t know is that she isn’t supposed to remember—that she was built in a computer science lab and programmed to forget. Because if she remembers, she might discover her true identity.
The question is: If she relived the fire, what would she see?

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: MILA 2.0
Author: Debra Driza
Published: March 12, 2013
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
ASIN: B0089LOMTM
Format: Kindle Edition
Series: MILA 2.0 #1
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Mila 2.0 is the first book in an electrifying sci-fi thriller series about a teenage girl who discovers that she is an experiment in artificial intelligence.
Mila was never meant to learn the truth about her identity. She was a girl living with her mother in a small Minnesota town. She was supposed to forget her past—that she was built in a secret computer science lab and programmed to do things real people would never do.
Now she has no choice but to run—from the dangerous operatives who want her terminated because she knows too much and from a mysterious group that wants to capture her alive and unlock her advanced technology. However, what Mila’s becoming is beyond anyone’s imagination, including her own, and it just might save her life.
Mila 2.0 is Debra Driza’s bold debut and the first book in a Bourne Identity-style trilogy that combines heart-pounding action with a riveting exploration of what it really means to be human. Fans of I Am Number Four will love Mila for who she is and what she longs to be—and a cliffhanger ending will leave them breathlessly awaiting the sequel.

banner-book-babble

The cover is simply stunning. I think with the Bourne Identity reference, we can all guess that this book would be action-packed and exciting (Even though I haven’t seen any Bourne Identity movies, I’ve seen the trailers). I think that in that aspect, the book does not disappoint. You will have your closeup combat, obstacle race, car chase, and so much more. Apart from the action, we can find teenage angst, self-actualization, heartbreakers, and whatnot. This is a definite page-turner~

Origins: The Fire was a little bit disappointing for me mostly because it is too short. Only 15% of my Kindle copy consists of the actual story. The rest were chapters to MILA 2.0 already. I guess if you want to try it out first then you can download this book. It’s free anyway. The short story is like one-chapter-long, detailing the day Mila’s house caught on fire.

There were a lot of confusing information in MILA 2.0, almost like it doesn’t coincide with Origins: The Fire. I think that there were a lot of questions unanswered in this book. I’m not sure if the author is saving up the information for the sequels, but I’m not quite sure what to believe. Am I allowed to make assumptions out of the few pieces of information that the author already wrote about? Or will there be more plot twists along the way? Sadly, I cannot really answer that at the moment.

Mila is a 16-year-old girl who moved to the little town of Clearwater in Minnesota with her mother. Her father died in a fire incident that she can barely remember. In fact, there is a lot about her past that she cannot fully remember. And soon she finds out why – she’s an android with programmed memories and emotions. Her “mom” was actually her co-creator who smuggled her away from the military compound and kept her hidden. However, Mila cannot stay hidden for long. Now she must run away from all the people who want to use her, while dealing with this new revelation in her life that she cannot easily accept. Is she really just an android or is she more human than we think? But what if it’s the only thing that can save her?

Debra Driza was very effective in drawing her macabre scenes of injuries, android parts, torture, and death. I definitely felt queasy reading some of the chapters, but then again, I’m not a big fan of those kinds of things. This is definitely not the kind of book I would normally read, but I loved it anyway. What actually drove me away from the full rating was Mila’s overemotional side (and the confusing info). I just don’t like how whiny she can get sometimes that I want to get rid of her human side. But it’s not all that bad I think. Some were quite understandable considering the situations.

Oh, and I just have to say, I do not trust Hunter, the love interest, at all. I don’t really know why. He does nothing wrong. He’s actually pretty sweet. But I do not trust him, even though the thought of him keeps Mila going. Maybe it’s just me, but you can pretty much judge yourself. I’d rather go with Lucas Webb even though he’s working for General Holland, the evil military co-creator of MILA, and even though he has a little deformity. Actually, I’m not so sure about the love interests in the series. See? We need more information!

**************************************************

OVERALL, this is definitely not a book that can stand alone, and it leaves much to be desired. I’m not sure if that is how the author really intended it, but it’s not something I’m much fond of. However, the story was very entertaining and captivating, and I would definitely want to know more about Mila so I’ll read the following book.

RATING:

4-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
One thought on “Book Review: MILA 2.0 by Debra Driza

  1. Pingback: Mila 2.0 Origins by Debra Drizer (Mila 2.0 Series Novella) | arlasworld

Leave a Reply

