Book Review: Mind Games by Kiersten White

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Mind Games
Author: Kiersten White
Published: February 19, 2013
Publisher: HarperTeen
ASIN: B0089LOFD0
Format: Kindle edition
Series: Mind Games #1
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future. 
Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways…or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.
In a stunning departure from her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy, Kiersten White delivers a slick, edgy, heartstoppingly intense psychological thriller about two sisters determined to protect each other—no matter the cost.

banner-book-babble

Well, this book definitely started with a bang. It opened with the funeral of Fia and Annie’s parents, and begins with the first chapter where Fia needs to kill someone, and then encounters three large men that she had to fight with. I must admit that I never really planned to read or like this book even though the cover is so pretty because the synopsis didn’t interest me that much. But I saw it around a lot, and the Kindle version was on sale on Amazon so I decided to try it out, and I think I was pleasantly surprised with most of it.

This is a very short read with a lot of things going on that kept me engaged enough. However, the timeline was just a little bit of a mess because it kept on jumping from one scene to the other. I got easily confused and I sometimes had to back up to read the chapter heading whether I was reading at a present time or the past. Scenes also kept on jumping around within chapters that also made me confused. Some parts just ended at an abrupt halt and then started on the next few hours or next few days. The story is told in Fia and Annie’s perspectives where they alternate chapters between the past and present times. Sometimes, I felt like the two sisters almost had the same voice so I mistook reading Annie’s chapter as Fia’s, which is kind of strange because they are so different from each other. So yes, this was very confusing for me, and sometimes things just didn’t add up. However, I still liked the story overall.

Mind Games dwells a lot on the sisterly love between Fia and Annie. Annie is the older sister, but she’s blind so Fia has always felt the need to always protect her. However, it doesn’t always work out. They are pushed to their limits when they were coerced to stay in the private school for gifted girls where Fia is used to perform dirty deeds because of her very unique ability – perfect instinct.

Fia is just so broken. She is badly forced into a life she never wanted. She carries the burden of taking care of her sister too much, and she has done so many unspeakable things that she can’t even tell her own sister. She feels so lost and unhappy. But she keeps on fighting, even though there were times that she would have selfish thoughts. I think I like Fia’s attitude for being so caring and humane despite everything she has done. Everyone else has driven her to insanity (not literally) and depression that she gets so restless and she formed a nervous habit of tapping her fingers, and I think it also shows with her long string of thoughts. It’s like internal babbling. It can be really crazy sometimes, but I happen to like the way she thinks. She even manages to make me laugh or smile. I like how she deflects the other Seers, Readers, and Feelers.

I didn’t really care much for the other characters so I’ll just do a quick run-through on the ones I have a couple of thoughts on. I do not really like Annie very much. A lot of things that happened to them were pretty much her own fault. She has been quite selfish throughout most of the story. And then we have James who is this handsome love interest for Fia. However, he’s the son of the man who controls Fia, and he acts as Fia and Annie’s manager, and makes Fia do jobs for him too. I don’t really trust him very much even though he makes Fia feel better. I don’t like Annie’s friend, Eden, either. She’s only nice to Annie, and usually mean to Fia. I like Adam, but I don’t think he’s a perfect fit for Fia so I’m not really sure about him as of now. If I’ll see more of him in the next books then maybe I can decide.

One last thing, I think that the last chapter was completely unnecessary. Or maybe the chapter should have been placed in between. The chapter prior to that would have been a great ending already and made me satisfied and started my want to wait for the next installment. That didn’t happen of course. I just don’t like how the last chapter is a scene from the past that doesn’t really say much. It mostly just establishes how the sisters take care of each other, which I already got from the previous chapters. If the story started out with a bang, it ended with a pfft. I was so mind-blown by the ending, and my feeling deflated because of that not-so-interesting last chapter.

**************************************************

OVERALL, this book was interesting enough, and I would surely read the next book. My rating for this book is at 3.5 because there are just some parts that were simply off for me. It’s not perfect, but still a really good read. I love the whole idea of these special abilities that only females have, and how Fia was able to evade them quite well.

RATING:

3.5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

