ARC Book Review: Silevethiel by Andi O’Connor

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Silevethiel
Authors: Andi O’Connor
Publication Date: October 24, 2013
Publisher: Purple Sun Press
Format: eARC

Acquisition: Netgalley

Purchase at: Amazon

«Come to me, Irewen. Follow me to the light.»
Following her father’s murder, Princess Irewen Donríel is betrayed and left for dead in the forests of Mistwood. Rescued by the elf prince, Laegon Elendell, Irewen awakes an exile with no home, no country, and no people. But as the horrific memories of murder and betrayal return, she realizes the nightmare is only beginning. 
The world of Vaelinel is failing—its fate bound to her in ways no one fully understands. A mysterious elven prophecy may provide her with some answers, but continuously hunted and fighting for her life, Irewen quickly learns that unearthing the truth will be more difficult than she ever imagined. Can she accept Laegon’s love and the friendship of the Wood Elves, or will she stand alone against the terrifying evil now threatening to destroy the entire world?

banner-book-babble

After reading the book, I wonder why the title and book cover focuses on Silevethiel when she wasn’t really the main character of the story. I wonder if it will make more sense in the next book. Despite that, I still like the cover and the book. Although I’m not really quite sure how to pronounce a lot of the names and places. There’s even an elven language.

I find it funny that some parts of this book reminds me of The Lord of the Rings. But apart from that, I also found new and somewhat unique things in this book. Silevethiel starts with a very brutal murder of the king, Irewen’s father. For her safety, she fled to Mistwood, the elven lands to seek protection, but she met a terrible fate, and was left for dead in the forest. But Laegon, prince of the elves, was able to find her and help her. But someone definitely wants her dead and won’t stop until that happens. Just read the synopsis because I don’t want to spoil any more of the story.

I do not really read a lot of books with a lot of action, so I found this book a little morbid. The description of body mutilations, beheadings, and whatnot made me flinch and sometimes queasy. There were a lot of parts that made me just want to hide under a blanket. I’m a scaredy cat, okay?

I personally like romance, but this book was overloaded with it to the point of being cheesy. It seems fitting to a medieval era, I guess. I’m not really sure, but I found it both sweet and…amusing. I still like Irewen and Laegon’s relationship though. And I totally ship Silevethiel and Bregan, the Dame of the Guardians and Laegon’s Guardian respectively. I hope they get together in the future. One can wish~

I think my favorite characters in the story are the men, except for the villains of course. They added a lot of entertainment to the story with their playful attitude. But they also have their serious side when it comes down to it.

I think it was a good start to the series, but the ending left me frustrated because I so badly want to know what is going to happen next. I need the next book, and this one hasn’t even been released yet. I cannot really say more because I do not want to spoil it.

**************************************************

OVERALL, this book was not perfect, but I definitely enjoyed it, and I loved the characters. I like how the creation of the characters, magic, and the world were very smart. Albeit sometimes too convenient, the story was still gripping. In this book, you will find very romantic scenes, very brutal fight scenes, magical abilities, and very amusing characters. I cannot wait for the next one!

RATING:

4-star

P.S. Thanks to Purple Sun Press and Netgalley for my copy of Silevethiel~

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
4 thoughts on “ARC Book Review: Silevethiel by Andi O’Connor

  1. It sounds like an interesting book. As soon as you said they have their own language I immediately though Lord of the Rings, and then you actually mentioned it reminded you of it a bit! I would be a little worried about the violence, like you I get queazy at blood & gore – especially medieval style, sometimes it can get quite gruesome. But I do like fantasy stories, so I might have to check it out 🙂

    Amy @ The Reading Realm

Leave a Reply

