Reading Resolve: Bout of Books / ARC August

bobheader2

rresReading Resolve: Setting my goals on the books I want to finish reading during the week.

August 19-25: Bout of Books starts today~ I wanted to read a lot of books on my shelf, but I badly need to catch up on ARC August so I just combined the two together~ I really want to finish these books so I might not be around much. I hope I can do the challenges, but we’ll have to see~

18104877176205011814257817783137

17875224177245781779867913597203

  1. Sisters in Love by Melissa Foster
  2. Illuminati: The Book of Life by Elizabeth Alsobrooks
  3. Not Pretty Enough by Jaimie Admans
  4. Lightpoints by Peter Kassan
  5. Ignite by Erica Crouch
  6. Fat Girl Fairy Boy by Carol McConkie
  7. American Girl on Saturn by Nikki Godwin
  8. Feyland by Anthea Sharp

break-1

UPDATES

Monday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Books: Wavecrossed by Andrea Colt (not on the list, but still a book~)
Challenges: Bookish Bucket List and Pairathon

bucket list: After reading 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson, I’ve been wanting to tour Europe, and even the rest of the world. I want to see these places that some books talk about.
I also have this bookish desire to fill a house with books. I want to see them on all the walls and furniture, and of course I want to live in it.

my pairing: pretty much coffee with everything http://instagram.com/p/dM7Ut5i… I chose Cupcake though because I love coffee and sweets. Also, Cyd Charisse, the main character is addicted to coffee and even worked as a barista so I crave coffee when I read about her.

break-1

Tuesday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Books: Sisters in Love by Melissa Foster
Challenges: Re-Title It

So this is the book that I will be reading and I haven’t really started reading it, and I’m not so sure what it’s about yet apart from what the synopsis on Goodreads tells me, which I think makes this book action-packed. It feels like Indiana Jones or something like that. I’m not really sure how to re-title it. Maybe from Illuminati: The Book of Life, we can just call it Illuminati? I’m bad at this, I know. On the left is the original cover. On the right is the cover that I pieced together. (image sources: Photo Dictionary and People Clip Art)

17620501 illuminati

break-1

Wednesday
Number of books I’ve read today: 15% of Illuminati (can’t seem to get into it)
Total number of books I’ve read: 2.15
Books: Illuminati: The Book of Life by Elizabeth Alsobrooks
Challenges: TBR Pile and Spine Poetry

TBR Pile Challenge: 368

1.  Which 5 books are at the top of your TBR pile at this moment?

Not including the readathon books, I think they would have to be Cinder by Marissa Meyer, Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, Legend by Marie Lu, For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund, and Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare. I plan to read all of these in September after Bout of Books and ARC August. 😀

1123571210763598927565883067617171637
2.  If I gave you a wad of cash and sent you into a bookshop right now, which 5 books would you buy to add to the stack?

If I were given a wad of cash,  I would definitely buy A Million Suns and Shades of Earth by Beth Revis, The Art of Wishing by Lindsay Ribar, Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian, and The Distance Between Us by Kasie West (even though it’s not available in our country, I want it).

1034592710345937135305661340642515283043

Spine Poetry:

I’ve been doing a lot of dark or tragic book spine poems because most of my books have titles that lean toward those kinds of poems. But for this readathon, I wanted to try something different. I wanted to go with a genre that I love –  Romance or Chick Lit. So here goes nothing~ I wanted to do something better than this but I was too lazy to dig up the rest of the books to complete this poem.

08222013425

It’s Kind of A Funny Story
The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight
Perchance to Dream
As You Wish

Attachments
Fire
Delirium
The Future of Us

Teen Angst? Naaah…
This Is What Happy Looks Like

break-1

Thursday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1 + 11% of Illuminati
Total number of books I’ve read: 3.26
Books: Not Pretty Enough by Jaimie Admans
Challenges: Book Road Trip and I Spy

Book Road Trip – 10 places I want to visit because of books~

  1. EUROPE! (England, Scotland, Italy, France, Netherlands, Denmark, Greece) – 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson. [I think this is the ultimate trip of all time. I want to live this life!]
  2. Paris, France – Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins [The food! The sights!]
  3. Japan – Ink by Amanda Sun and Train Man by Hitori Nakano [Cherry Blossoms! Akihabara! Pretty Sights! Good food~]
  4. England – The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith, Shades of London Series by Maureen Johnson [Whether for just a visit or whether I stay in boarding school, I want to be in England~] Also, HOGWARTS! Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling [I want to go to the Studio Tour!]
  5. Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania – The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky [I want to experience that moment in the tunnel!]
  6. New York, New York – Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist, as well as Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares, both by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan [I want to go around the city~ I want to go to the bookstore in DaLBoD!] Also, The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger [The fashion scene~]
  7. Tasmania, Australia – Saving Wishes by G.J. Walker-Smith [I just want to see the pretty sights]
  8. Seville, Spain – The Orange Girl by Jostein Gardner [It’s seems like such a magical and romantic place~]
  9. Troy, Turkey – The Iliad by Homer [I haven’t actually read the book, but my history teacher discussed about it and showed pictures of the place and I definitely want to see it. Although I think it’s not that safe. Who knows~ But I definitely want to see!]
  10. Chicago, Illinois – Divergent by Veronica Roth and Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan [The Bean~ I don’t know why. Haha!]

I Spy… (on a book cover)

  1. Snowflakes – Let It Snow by Maureen Johnson, John Green, and Lauren Myracle
  2. Flames – Crash by Lisa McMann
  3. A city skyline – Divergent by Veronica Roth
  4. The moon – Great Book of Amber by Roger Zelazny
  5. A sword – The Ironwood Tree by Holly Black and Tony Diterlizzi
  6. A wedding dress – So Silver Bright by Lisa Mantchev
  7. High heels – Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  8. Fog – The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson
  9. A Christmas tree – Sorry. Can’t find one~
  10. Sunglasses – Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen
  11. Lightening?? Lightning? Being Jamie Baker by Kelly Oram
  12. A tattoo – Dead Sexy Dragon by Lolita Lopez
  13. Combat boots – Gingerbread by Rachel Cohn
  14. Hand-cuffs – Fifty Shades Freed by E.L. James
  15. A road – It’s Kind of A Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

6883008131463121333503714866213511235712135956391043787Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.135885713536860248704

break-1

Friday
Number of books I’ve read today: 1 +1% of Illuminati
Total number of books I’ve read: 4.27
Books: American Girl on Saturn by Nikki Godwin
Challenges: Bookish Mad Libs

A. Place (from a book title) – The Hostile Hospital by Lemony Snicket
B. Fave Villain (from a book – list title/series) – Warner from the Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi
C. Adjective (from a book title) – Unbreakable by Elizabeth Norris
D. Number (from a book title) – 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson
E. Noun (from a book title) – Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
F. Fave Hero/Heroine you wouldn’t mind spending a LOT of time with (from a book – list title/series) – Vane Weston from Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger
G. Dessert (from a book title) – Cupcake by Rachel Cohn

And now to fill in the template~ I find it really funny.

Help! I’m being held captive at The Hostile Hospital, by Warner!
It is very Unbreakable here!
He is demanding 13 Attachments to set me free!
I have just discovered that Vane Weston was captured too!
On second thought, please send Cupcake(s), and don’t worry if you don’t hear from us for awhile!

Much Love,
Francine Soleil

P.S. I will never want to leave with Warner and Vane with me~

break-1

Saturday
Number of books I’ve read today: 24% of Ignite by Erica Crouch
Total number of books I’ve read: 4.51
Books:
Challenges: Bookish Wishes and Acrostic Book Poem

Bookish Wishes: Question 1: If you could be like any character from a fictional book, who would it be? What do you like about them?Tell me why!

  • I want to be Chloe Branson from American Girl on Saturn by Nikki Godwin because she was able to spend three weeks in lockdown with such swoon-worthy guys. And her life seems wonderful despite certain people being awful to her.

Acrostic Book Poem

18246873Water is where they belong
A family is what they need
Vengeance is what they desire
Empathy is greatly misplaced by
Captors who think they are doing good
Release is what they really long for
Overcoming those who bound them
Siblings must do their best
Sealskins they must keep and retrieve
Every wrong move will matter
Determination will set them free

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

20 thoughts on “Reading Resolve: Bout of Books / ARC August

  1. Oh no! I forgot to put American Girl on Saturn on my reading list! Bah! I hope you can get to that one. I’d love to see what you think about it. (:

  2. I like your book pairing! I read ‘The Espressologist’ by Kristin Springer(?) a while back and had THE BIGGEST coffee craving all the way through because the main character’s a barista in a cute local coffee shop.

    I have Daughter of Smoke and Bone somewhere on my TBR pile, I might take it on holiday with my in October if I can find it amongst all the boxes I’ve packed for our house move! Thanks for entering the challenge, and good luck! 😀

  3. You are really doing great doing sop many challenges as well as reading as much , congrats really.
    i did got a little trouble with one of teh boo i picked too ( slow reading and then so disappointing i nearly didn’t dare to pick something else)
    now i will need to read a lot more on teh last day ^^

    • Oh thank you. And here I was feeling a little unproductive. Haha! I already gave up on finishing more though. I suddenly got addicted to playing Pottermore. Good luck on the rest of your goals though. I hope you’re having fun! 😀

Leave a Reply

