ARC Review: Dead Sexy Dragon by Lolita Lopez

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Dead Sexy Dragon
Authors: Lolita Lopez
Publication Date: August 6, 2013
Publisher: Forever Yours
Format: eARC
Series: Dragon Heat #1

Acquisition: Netgalley

 

The last thing dragon shifter Stig Wyvern needs is his dead friend’s kid sister showing up on his doorstep. He’s just minutes away from entering a mating phase. Sharing his isolated house with the young woman he’s desperately lusted after for quite some time is a recipe for disaster.
But Cora Cardenas has nowhere else to go. She’s in deep trouble with some really nasty people and Stig is the only one who can protect her. That he’s deliciously sexy and makes her tingle with the simplest of smiles is just a bonus.
Cora quickly realizes Stig is hiding something from her. To make matters worse, she’s plagued with breathtakingly naughty dreams starring a shadowed lover who bears a startling resemblance to her host. And just what the hell is going on down in the basement at night?
Stig needs to get Cora out of his house but his inner beast has other ideas. He’s found his mate and she’s not going anywhere…

banner-book-babble

I don’t normally read a lot of erotica, but I got an email from Netgalley about this book as well as another one that I downloaded that I expect to read and review in the future. Just seeing the covers, I already knew they would have mature content, but I don’t really know what came over me to download them, but I think this one was because of “Sexy” and “Dragon.”

I think in terms of erotic content, it wasn’t that bad for a person who doesn’t read much of it. Most of the detailed scenes were in the beginning and were just mostly dirty dreams. I think there was around one or two scenes where they actually have sex that was thoroughly written. The other half of the story was about Stig and Cora’s relationship, as well as some action that has nothing to do with sex.

Cora is deeply troubled when she crossed paths with certain awful people so she runs away to Stig’s isolated home. Stig, being a dragon in mating season at that time, couldn’t even begin to think how he could keep Cora in the same house. But seeing that she was really desperate, Stig allowed it. Tensions rise and secrets are revealed, and they find out that some things that shouldn’t happen will happen.

**************************************************

OVERALL, this was a short and steamy read, but it also deals with romance in the emotional sense and how they are deeply attracted to each other. I think that’s why I liked it. It was pretty sweet. The part I really liked though is how Stig is a dragon, and Lolita Lopez writes about his world and his abilities. She also mentions why knights are hunting down all the dragons and why dragons shapeshift. I think it was very interesting.

RATING:

3.5-star

P.S. Thanks to Forever Yours and Netgalley for my copy~

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

