ARC Book Review: Backward Glass by David Lomax

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: Backward Glass
Authors: David Lomax
Publication Date: October 8, 2013
Publisher: Flux
Format: eARC

Acquisition: Netgalley

Purchase at: Amazon

Crack your head, knock you dead, then Prince Harming’s hunger’s fed.
It’s 1977, and Kenny Maxwell is dreading the move away from his friends. But then, behind the walls of his family’s new falling-apart Victorian home, he finds something incredible–a mummified baby and a note: “Help me make it not happen, Kenny. Help me stop him.”
Shortly afterwards, a beautiful girl named Luka shows up. She introduces Kenny to the backward glass, a mirror that allows them to travel through time. Meeting other “mirror kids” in the past and future is exciting, but there’s also danger. The urban legend of Prince Harming, who kidnaps and kills children, is true–and he’s hunting them. When Kenny gets stranded in the past, he must find the courage to answer a call for help, change the fate of a baby–and confront his own destiny.

banner-book-babble

I will be honest. I was losing faith with finding a really really great book from Flux, and I am really glad that I found this book. I don’t think that it would be something I would normally pick up, because the dead baby would definitely have scared me away from ever reading this. But it looked really good and interesting, and after reading it, I think that Backward Glass was definitely worth my time and attempts at bravery.

Kenny Maxwell is one of the “mirror kids.” The mirror has a lot of rules, and I wouldn’t talk about those anymore because I think it’s better understood when you read the whole book. When Kenny moves into the house where the mirror is, he finds out that he can travel to 10 years before his time through the backward glass. And he’s not alone. Every ten years, the mirror chooses one kid. And Kenny learns about the mirror kids from 1917-2017. I will admit that those are a lot of people to remember, and it kind of threw me off for a little while. But once I got to read about each and every one of them, I was able to get to know them a lot better. My favorite character would have to be Luka, the mirror kid of 1987. She loves Star Wars and plays Nintendo. She’s fun, brave, and smart. Also, John Wald, a 17th-century man was so hard to understand. I’m with Kenny in the fact that I do not even understand what he’s saying most of the time.

In the story, the mirror kid from 1917 asks for Kenny’s help to save her baby. Kenny found it’s dead body sixty years later in 1977, and that is seriously freaky and not good for my imagination. To add to that, someone called Prince Harming is out to harm the mirror kids. He scared me too. I scare too easily. I like how Kenny learns more and more about the mirrors and how they work. They are all able to communicate with each other by leaving notes or carvings or whatnot. I also like what Kenny comes to realize somewhere along the end. I think that this book was tied up really well. This is the kind of book that gets better and better as I read it, and I found myself unable to let go in the end. Although if I’m not mistaken, there were some parts of the story that weren’t given answers to.

And now here’s a lovely quote from the ARC (not sure if you’ll find this in the final version):

“Even if nothing we do makes a difference, at least we can want to make a difference. It matters what you want to do.”

**************************************************

OVERALL, Backward Glass was a very thrilling, brilliant, and entertaining read about mirrors that allow children to travel through time. This book freaked me out, but also kept me enthralled with Kenny’s journey through time. It was definitely new to me, and I learned to love it a lot. I love the references from different decades, even though I don’t always know all of them. This was almost perfect for me. The only difficulty I had was understanding all the science concepts because it has never been my favorite subject. I was still able to get through them though, and I really enjoyed and loved Backward Glass.

RATING:

4.5-star

P.S. Thanks to Flux and Netgalley for my copy~

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

