ARC Review: Two Roads by L.M. Augustine

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: Two Roads
Authors: L.M. Augustine
Publication Date: August 26, 2013
Publisher: L.M. Augustine
Format: eARC

Acquisition: Free from the Author

BUY IT: Amazon

The only person poetry-loving Cali Monroe hates more than herself is Logan Waters, the geeky kid who lives in the dorm building next to hers.
Ever since Cali’s parents told her she would amount to nothing, she has felt entirely inadequate. Friendless and alone, she takes on the mean girl role in hopes it will make her feel better–and Logan serves as the perfect target. He infuriates her with his obnoxiously long lashes, his all too perfect dimpled smile, and his complete lack of personality outside of his intelligence. It doesn’t hurt that he’s part of the reason her brother is dead, either. So Cali hates him, and he returns the favor. Thus, their prank-filled, insult-driven rivalry is born, and torturing Logan quickly becomes the highlight of her life.
But when Cali’s parents set them up on a blind date, she begins to realize Logan might not be as boring as she always thought. He shares her love of poetry, takes a sadistic pleasure in making fun of crepes, and he makes her blush when he calls her smile pretty.
And hey, maybe those long lashes of his aren’t that obnoxious after all… 
Two Roads is New Adult Romance about finding love, standing out, and learning to embrace who you are. It contains some language and mild sexual content.

banner-book-babble

If you didn’t know yet, I fell madly in love with L.M. Augustine after I read Click to Subscribe. And I was simply ecstatic that I was able to receive an ARC for Two Roads. I think he’s the only author I fangirl over where I send creepo messages professing my love. I will be honest that I was very afraid that his new novel was a New Adult book because those never really fare out well for me, but I found out that I had nothing to be afraid of. This was a really awesome book! I didn’t think I could fall more in love with L.M. Augustine, but he proved me wrong. Oh, and I scheduled my review to be posted on the RELEASE DAY! THIS BOOK IS OUT TODAY SO GO BUY IT! It’s only $2.99 on Kindle~ It will be worth it, I promise.

Cali is deeply hungover by the death of his brother, Ben. She blames herself, her parents, and Logan. She doesn’t want to feel the pain so she pretends. She pretends that she’s okay and that she doesn’t care. She pretends to be one of the mean girls. And when Logan shows up years after Ben’s death and goes to the same university, she just snapped and started insulting him. But Logan fought back, and they became rivals. They set up pranks to outdo each other. They insult each other, and they send each other hate mail. And it was just really funny and entertaining to watch them (in my imagination anyway).

But there’s more to Cali than the mean girl exterior that she hides behind from. She is passionate about poetry, and she’s taking an English major even though her parents badly want her to be an engineer and take care over their family business. And I admire her for that, because I have the same feeling but I bend to the will of my parents. I think I can relate to her in some ways. Oh, and she’s not perfect at all. She even made mistakes that I kinda hate her for, but I think I understand her and I don’t really blame her. I also like how the chapters in the book start out with her poems. And the story is told in her perspective, which I was surprised about because L.M.’s first book was in a guy’s perspective which suited him well. One last thing about Cali – her favorite author is Robert Frost hence the road reference.

And now let’s go to the reason why I really really love L.M. Augustine. He knows how to conjure men that I would easily fall in love with. I love Logan Waters. He is brilliant in coming up with pranks. He’s cute, nerdy, funny. He rambles a lot. He likes studying. He’s A-DORK-ABLE! And I simply love his geeky shirts. He also really loves poetry so he is able to connect with Cali.

I’ll be honest, I don’t read a lot of poetry, but I do love them. I like doing poetry recitations, and I love reading love poems, especially if I get the gist of it because let’s face it – it’s difficult sometimes. But I love the poetry references in this book, and L.M. also wrote some of his own. I also think that the writing of some of the scenes were pretty poetic.

And now here’s one of my favorite quotes. I highlighted A LOT from my copy, but I might just end up posting them on my Tumblr account sometime soon. As you can see, I kept it very simple~

tr1

Oh, and even though this is a NA book, there weren’t any very detailed sex scenes, which was a huge relief to me. It was more about dealing with growing up and moving on. There was however strong language and some sexual references so I guess it’s a little step up from Click to Subscribe. Also, Katherine Fischer reminds me a little of Cat Davenport.

**************************************************

OVERALL, I loved this book. I definitely love L.M. Augustine’s writing style. Even though his stories can be predictable, he’s fun, entertaining, geeky, and awesome. I love the characters that he create. Two Roads was definitely a great read that made me laugh and fall in love. It made me feel. Even though I already have the ARC, I still want to buy the Kindle edition and the paperback. I am that obsessed.

RATING:
5-star

P.S. Thanks to L.M. Augustine for my copy~ In your own words “you [L.M.] are worth discovering.

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

