ARC Book Review: Ignite by Erica Crouch

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

recommendedTitle: Ignite
Authors: Erica Crouch
Publication Date: June 11, 2013
Publisher: Patchwork Press
Format: eARC
Series: Ignite #1

Acquisition: Netgalley

Purchase at: Amazon ll The Book Depository

Penemuel (Pen) fell from grace over a millennium ago, yet there are still times she questions her decision to follow her twin brother, Azael, to Hell. Now that the archangel Michael has returned, threatening Lucifer’s vie for the throne, she begins questioning everything she has always believed. 
As Hell prepares for war – spreading a demonic virus and pilfering innocent souls to build an army – the lines separating the worlds blur. Fates erase and the future is left unwritten. Azael is determined that he and his sister will continue to serve as demons together, but for the first time in her life, Pen is not ruled by destiny. She has the freedom of choice. 
With choice comes sacrifice, and Pen must decide which side she’s willing to risk everything fighting for: the light, or the dark.

banner-book-babble

This is Erica Crouch’s gift to me~ Just kidding. I do have the same birthday as Ignite though. And this book is definitely Erica’s gift to the world. It’s fun, different, intelligent, and just overall great.

It’s not everyday that you get to read about an antiheroine. Pen is a demon, fallen from Heaven for not agreeing with their beliefs. She also chose to follow her rebellious brother, Azael, because she didn’t want to be separated from him. He was the only person she ever had in her life. Without him, she would always be alone. She has spent centuries killing people and pretending to like it so that she would feel like she belongs to Hell. But she doesn’t belong there. Not really. And when the archangel, Michael, is reborn different from his previous life, things get more complicated.

I love Pen, and it’s not very often that I like the female character more. She’s brave, very smart, funny, and just really different. I like how she connects herself with words and literature. I like how she’s so strong and badass – doing what she needs to and not easily giving up. I like that she always kept a part of herself even though she needed to hide it. I like how her character developed in the story, and how she learns to embrace herself. This is one (out of many) of my favorite lines:

i

I love the references to poetry, books, ink, paper, words, and the like. I like the pop culture references too and how some of the angels and demons have adapted with the modern world clothing, language, etc. I like how I was able to relate myself with most of them.

I like the talk about how the idea of good and evil is never black and white. No one is perfect after all. It made me think about the human condition where people reduce us to the dominant things that we do. If we are perceived as good, they have such high expectations of us to never make a mistake. They expect us to follow their standards. But people are never really that simple. I like how Pen and Michael think about these kinds of things.

Oh, and I also like Azael for his sarcasm and humor. It’s just sad how far he has fallen into darkness. Michael was a nice and sweet character. There was a point where I got annoyed with him, but I think I still like him.

I don’t really want to spoil the book so I cannot say much more about the book. I think that it was well-written, but there are just some parts that I feel iffy about.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Ignite was a really great read about angels and demons. I loved the characters and discourse. Some parts of the plot were off for me, but it was still overall enjoyable. The ending is awful, in a good way. It makes me scared of what will happen to Pen, but I also desperately want to know how it will go. The writing was simply beautiful. It made me feel and think. The romance was good too. I think that Erica Crouch is off to a good start, and I can’t wait to know where this will lead.

RATING:

4.5-star

P.S. Thanks to Patchwork Press and Netgalley for my copy~

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
12 thoughts on “ARC Book Review: Ignite by Erica Crouch

  1. I’m glad you like this book, Francine. It’s one of my all time favourites.
    I feel so much pain for Az, as well, because I really think that deep down he is not evil D: I guess we will have to wait until the sequel to really find out though.
    Lovely review ^.^

  2. Your description of Erica reminds me a little bit of Beatrice from Divergent in that they both make a difficult choice that often brings pain, but they stand by their choices regardless.

Leave a Reply

