Awesome Acquisitions~

banner-building-books

Building with Books: Building my dream house of books one book (or more) at a time~

break-1

I didn’t buy anything this week, but I got a couple of awesome books~ ♥

The lovely Veronica Bane (I love her name) sent me a copy of her debut book/novella, Mara. I am so so excited about this, and it even arrived earlier than I expected it to! I love the cover, and the story looks so interesting – teenagers with fire powers. Veronica Bane is also a high school teacher so I wonder if she draws inspirations from her students. I might ask her, or research on that.

08292013430-1 18108680

My camera sucks~ But the book is very very pretty~

Synopsis: For years, Mara Tucker has used her power of manipulating flames to punish those who have done her wrong. But things are changing in the town of Jericho. Rampant disappearances have forced Mara to seek out others with special powers. In a story that confronts the violence and turmoil of adolescence, Mara and a group of other “unusuals” like her grapple with new alliances and the villains pressing in all around them.

P.S. I will be holding a blog tour for Mara. Is anyone interested? I only have one copy of the book though so only Filipino bloggers would be able to do reviews. I think those in other countries can buy their own copy or post excerpts or something. Please contact me if you are interested~ I’ll make a more formal invitations next month (meaning in a few days).

break-1

I also received Duplicity and Enchantment, books 2 and 3 of the Spellbound Series by Nikki Jefford. I’m actually pretty excited about these because I really want to know what happens to the characters. I won these two books from the Free eReadathon days or weeks ago.

13585884 15115644

Lastly, I got some books from Netgalley that I never even imagined I would be approved for. I got Countdown by Michelle Rowen and Waterfell by Amalie Howard.

17622950 17397760

More from Netgalley: I also got Streaks of Blue by Jack Chaucer, which looks really really interesting. And it’s short too so I’ll probably squeeze that in sometime in September if I can. I also got Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan, which I read months ago. I don’t have my own copy yet so I requested one so that I could re-read and review it.

18372527 18338327

That’s all for me~ What about you?

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

7 thoughts on “Awesome Acquisitions~

  1. You got so many awesome books this week – wow! I just added Mara to my TBR, because I think it looks amazing. I love books about people with superpowers 😀
    The covers for the Spellbound books are seriously gorgeous, and I think I need to jump over to Net Galley and see if some of these books are still up for requests (although I don’t really need any more books to review, haha).
    I don’t think I actually bought any books this week – shock horror! But a book I won in a giveaway came in the mail – which was awesome ^.^

Leave a Reply

