Book Review: Crash by Lisa McMann

mm-series-september

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: Crash
Author: Lisa McMann
Published: January 8, 2013
Publisher: Simon Pulse
ISBN13: 9781442405912
Format: Paperback
Series: Visions #1
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Jules lives with her family above their restaurant, which means she smells like pizza most of the time and drives their double-meatball-shaped food truck to school. It’s not a recipe for popularity, but she can handle that.
What she can’t handle is the recurring vision that haunts her. Over and over, Jules sees a careening truck hit a building and explode…and nine body bags in the snow.
The vision is everywhere—on billboards, television screens, windows—and she’s the only one who sees it. And the more she sees it, the more she sees. The vision is giving her clues, and soon Jules knows what she has to do. Because now she can see the face in one of the body bags, and it’s someone she knows. Someone she has been in love with for as long as she can remember.

banner-book-babble

“The crash is my life.”

17-year-old Jules DeMarco has been having a vision of a snowplow crashing into a building that will result into an explosion and dead people. She sees it on billboards, TV, etc. And only she can see it, but she can’t easily tell anyone because people would just think that she was crazy. It also doesn’t help that she’s seeing it happen to the Angotti family’s restaurant, their family rival for generations. She has also been in love with Sawyer Angotti for years.

Personally, I think that this book was very different, and thus, refreshing. Some of it has been done before, but the way that Lisa McMann wrote the book just made me love it. For one, Jules family is very present in the book, and they affect her in different ways. She has a really crazy father and an overly perky mother. Her fun older brother and responsible younger sister were very good siblings though. Also, she is clearly in love with Sawyer, but I didn’t find a lot of romantic or swoon-y scenes. The level of sweetness was just right.

“Sawyer turned our friendship off like a faucet, but I can’t help it – my faucet of love has a really bad leak.”

I really love Jules. The story was told in her perspective, so I guess I got to know her the best in the story. It’s quite rare for me to really love the main female character who’s telling the story so Jules is definitely one of the special ones. I like how she writes out lists about things happening around her, and she also talks/thinks in metaphors. She’s funny too. She’s also very honest about her feelings towards Sawyer. She doesn’t really need soul-searching either. Her attention was mostly focused on saving the day, even though she doesn’t know how.

What’s also interesting about this book is that Jules is a loner. She doesn’t have friends or a social life. She only has her family. She’s a good daughter and sister, and she doesn’t really go out much. So this asks the question how is she supposed to save people from dying if it’s hard for Jules to go out and figure things. The visions aren’t very clear either, and no one would/could believe her.

P.S. The cover is so pretty~

**************************************************

OVERALL, I think that this book was just perfect from cover-to-pages-to-cover. The story dwells a lot on Jules trying to figure out her vision before it’s too late, and how the craziness and family rivalries are not making it any easier. It just kept me flipping the engrossing pages until the holy-sh*t ending. I saw a lot of mixed reviews about this book on Goodreads so I’m not really sure who would like this book. One thing’s for sure, I love it and I would definitely recommend it. I love the writing, the characters, and the storyline. It was just awesome.

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
2 thoughts on “Book Review: Crash by Lisa McMann

Leave a Reply

