Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

mm-series-september

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Cinder
Author: Marissa Meyer
Published: January 3, 2012
Publisher: Square Fish
ISBN13: 9781250007209
Format: Paperback
Series: Lunar Chronicles #1
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . . 
Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

banner-book-babble

Cinder is based on the fairy tale, Cinderella. But Marissa Meyer added her own personal twist on the original story and changed a lot of it. Cinder is a cyborg and the best mechanic in New Beijing. She has an evil stepmother and stepsister, but she also has a little android friend, Iko. Cinder is abused by her stepmother to do all the work for the family and earn for them. But this is not a typical rags to riches story. There’s a plague spreading in the planet and there is an impending intergalactic war, and Cinder has a role to play in it.

I am sorry to say that I was underwhelmed by this book, and I’m usually the kind of person who agrees with the majority in liking a book. People have been raving about this and saying so many good things about it, but I did not see or feel whatever they did because this book just didn’t sit well with me.

I don’t understand why they have prejudices against cyborgs. This is supposed to be a time of peace for the whole planet Earth (they have a peace festival every year!), yet they are still oppressing these people. It’s not like they had much of a choice. They can’t function well if they don’t get these robotic parts attached to them. Why do people shun them? This is supposed to be futuristic or something.

I know that this is a fairy tale retelling, but the whole story was just way too predictable. I hate that it’s so predictable, I would just point out what would happen and I would get impatient for it to actually happen already. I wish I would be wrong and surprised somewhere along the way, but it just didn’t happen. It felt draggy.

Cinder was an okay female lead, but I don’t really have much going on for her. I like her sarcasm because it makes me laugh, but nothing more other than that. I don’t really understand Kai very much. I definitely did not fall in love with him. Also, the characters that I really liked only existed in the first parts of the book so that added to my distaste. Although I think the villains were well-made. They are definitely evil.

**************************************************

OVERALL, I’m sad to say that I didn’t like this book very much. I started feeling iffy about it from the first chapter, but I finished it in just a few hours so I think that merits something. I didn’t like the prominent characters, and I hate how predictable the story is. And now, I’m quite afraid to pick up the rest of the books. This did not work for me, but it worked for a lot of people so I guess people should give it a try.

RATING:

3-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
10 thoughts on “Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. Maybe it’s so predictable because you knew the story it was based on? Once you already know the plot, it’s hard to be surprised. I kind of had to put away the “I’m waiting to be stunned” part of my brain and just enjoy the story for what it was and smile at the little references to the source text.

    Are you going to be reading Scarlet next? I still haven’t read that one and haven’t seen many reviews on it!

    • Hmmm. I’m not sure if that’s it. I personally like fairy tale retellings and see how the author changes it. The concept to Cinder was really good, but the supposed plot twists didn’t surprise me at all

      I haven’t bought a copy of Scarlet yet so I might get read and review that month/s from now.

  2. I have been pretty hesitant on reading this series. Mostly because it doesn’t sound like a retelling at all for me. More like borrowing some aspects but not enough to qualify as a retelling. Plus the names are changed and such.

  3. I hate to say it but I really quite love this book. I didn’t find the elements of Cinderella to be too distracting. Some dialogue was a bit glitchy for me, but I found Marissa Meyer to do pretty well with the world-building. I almost can’t wait to get to the sequel. 🙂

    • Oh. I know a lot of people love this book. In fact all of my Goodreads friends gave this a high rating. And I will admit that the writing and concept are really good. It’s just not for me, but I’m glad you love it. What’s your favorite part? 🙂

  4. Great review. I did like this one more than you. I was pleasantly surprised at how many elements were involved. I may of liked it more because I read it before the release and hype and wasn’t expecting much.

Leave a Reply

