[Blog Tour] ARC Book Review: Wavecrossed by Andrea Colt

Wavecrossed Tour Banner

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Wavecrossed
Authors: Andrea Colt
Publication Date: August 22, 2013
Publisher: Andrea Colt
Format: eARC

Purchase at:  Amazon | CreateSpace (paperback) | B&N

Acquisition: Oops! I Read Again Tours

A young-adult paranormal novel about selkies, tasers, kissing and secrets.
To Cassandra Kelleher, trust is a dirty word.
A teenage selkie who grew up on land, all she wants is to free her family from the man who stole their sealskins long ago. With her twin brother Brennan losing hope and her window of opportunity disappearing like the beach at high tide, she’ll try anything.
Before long, however, Cassandra can’t tell whether her biggest threat is the man holding her family captive, a classmate who’s discovered her secret, or her own paranoia. Battling broken friendships and alarming romantic entanglements, Cassandra finds that trust could be the key to winning her family’s freedom … or losing her own.

banner-book-babble

When I read the synopsis for this book, I thought that selkies would be some beautiful, mystical sea creatures. Apparently, I was wrong. Selkies are seals that can turn into humans and has brains like a human when in seal form. They need their sealskins to transform into seals.

Cass’ family lost their sealskins when the Murphy family stole them. As an effect of the possession of their sealskins, the family are very devoted to their captors, the Murphy family. But Cass’ older brother, Declan, made a deal with Douglas Murphy that allowed Cass and her twin, Brennan, to have their sealskins back. They had freedom, but they couldn’t enjoy it without their family. However, Douglas Murphy would never allow the rest of them to be released, and Cass and Brennan must work hard if they could ever have a chance of success.

I found it funny how Andrea Colt was able to come up with so many sea/water/ocean/etc. puns, jokes, and references. I think that helped with the overall theme of the book, and made it a lot more enjoyable. There were a couple of predictable or cliche parts, but I was just enjoying the whole thing that I didn’t even mind. I must admit that I liked most of the side characters more though.

Cass is a person that’s very hard to like. Maybe because she doesn’t even try. She doesn’t trust anyone and she’s very bossy. She’s very paranoid. I admit that I got frustrated with her a lot with the way she deals with things. I think she’s just broken by what happened to her family. But she’s also very determined and strong so I think she has her redeeming points. By the end of the book, she pretty much won me over.

**************************************************

OVERALL, this book made me excited, surprised, happy, frustrated, elated, and sad. It’s just a bundle of emotions and I enjoyed it. The selkies were pretty new to me so it was interesting to learn about them. I liked the writing and the whole concept. I would definitely recommend this book for those who like fantasy young adult books.

RATING:

4-star

andreacolt

Andrea Colt grew up reading and squabbling with her identical twin. She lives in Alexandria, Virginia with her husband, a fridge full of cheese, and two feline muses. Visit andreacolt.com to get to know her better.
Author Links
Website: andreacolt.com/
Twitter: @Andrea_Colt
Facebook: Andrea Colt
Newsletter sign-up: ALC Autholy News

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
4 thoughts on “[Blog Tour] ARC Book Review: Wavecrossed by Andrea Colt

Leave a Reply

