Book Promo + Review: Reaping Me Softly by Kate Evangelista

mm-series-september

BOOK PROMO:

Reaping Me Softly ebook is ON SALE for only $0.99 in anticipation for the release of Unreap My Heart (which I want so badly). I recommend this to all the YA lovers out there. It’s definitely a steal~

Buy Now:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Omnific Publishing

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page~

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page~

favoriteTitle: Reaping Me Softly
Author: Kate Evangelista
Published: October 1, 2012
Publisher: Omnific Publishing
ISBN13: 9781623429119
Format: Paperback
Series: The Reaper Series #1
Acquisition: Bought

Ever since a near-death-experience on the operating table, seventeen-year-old Arianne Wilson can see dead people. Just as she’s learned to accept her new-found talents, she discovers that the boy she’s had a crush on since freshman year, Niko Clark, is a Reaper.
At last they have something in common, but that doesn’t mean life is getting any easier. All while facing merciless bullying from the most powerful girl in school, Arianne’s world is turned upside down after Niko accidentally reaps the soul of someone she loves. This sends them both into a spiral that threatens to end Arianne’s life. But will Niko break his own Reaper’s code to save her? And what would the consequences be if he did?

banner-book-babble

Let me just start out by saying that I LOVE LOVE LOVE this cover. It’s so pretty~ And I’m so glad that I bought a paperback copy even though it was so expensive. I must admit that I was afraid to spend so much on a book/write I didn’t know much about. But I couldn’t help myself.

When I started reading the book, I was thinking “Oh my gosh. I feel like I won’t like this. I wasted my money.” But I was WRONG. This book got better and better when I continued reading it, and I ended up loving it, as can be seen by the full rating below~ I’m even happier that I got a signed copy.

09042013451

I like the whole concept of Death and the Reapers of the USA. I find it interesting how there is one Reaper for each state of America, and each one is ranked based on the death tolls in each state. I like how Death was humanized in showing emotions and thoughts, and the Reapers are his children who he really cares about. I also like the different take on mortality for the Reapers. I won’t say more because I don’t want to spoil it, but I think that the ideas in this book are just brilliant. Oh, and I like how the Reapers always have to wear black, gray or white because of how death is, and how each scythe has its own design.

The story is told in the third person point of view, which I think is perfect for this story to be able to capture all of the different characters involved. However, the focus remains on Arianne and Nikolas. Arianne has had a big crush on Niko for the longest time, and when their paths finally cross, well, a lot of things happen. I love Niko’s character because of how he’s always well-dressed and eloquent. He’s the silent and brooding type that actually has more character in him that shows when he’s with the people he really cares about. Arianne has a special ability that easily connects her with Niko, and I guess the attraction between them is just natural. Ben, Arianne’s best friend, was also a really great character. And I just loved him more and more as I got to know him.

**************************************************

OVERALL, this book was simply wonderful and amazing to read. There are a lot of unique ideas in it, and a lot of surprises that made me internally freak out. And I loved it. I just loved it. Yes, there is so much to love about this book – the story, the characters, the plot twists, the development. Death and the Reapers of the USA are a very interesting bunch, and I would love to read more about them. Arianne is definitely an interesting character. I’d love to see where this goes so I’m quite excited to get my hands on book 2. I would definitely recommend this book and I hope people will be able to see how awesome Reaping Me Softly really is.

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
8 thoughts on “Book Promo + Review: Reaping Me Softly by Kate Evangelista

Leave a Reply

