ARC Book Review: Fat Girl Fairy Boy by Carol McConkie

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Fat Girl Fairy Boy
Authors: Carol McConkie
Publication Date: April 1, 2013
Publisher: Blue Star Books
Format: eARC
Series: N/A
Acquisition: Book Hub, Inc.

Purchase at: Amazon

Frieda Kunkelheimer knew she wasn’t welcome in the world from her earliest stirrings. She also knew she was big and ugly, as proclaimed by her grandmother on the day of her birth. Though Frieda Kunkelheimer later blossoms into a beautiful and successful Hollywood film star, it had been determined, even before birth, that she was unwanted and unloved. 
En route to a film shoot, the embittered, aging actress known as Frie, and Robin, her fearful, phobic gay makeup artist, survive a plane crash in the jungles of Central America only to be held hostage by El Salvadoran guerrillas. Their self-absorbed lives take a backseat to the events of their capture as a bizarre set of circumstances unfold and kindle courage, compassion, and forgiveness they never thought possible. 
‘Fat Girl Fairy Boy’ is a darkly humorous tale of family, friendship, and personal discovery. Written in masterful prose, and filled with rich characters, McConkie mixes irony, humor, and pathos while weaving multifaceted storylines into a wildly entertaining adventure. Few experienced novelists fare as well as McConkie in this debut literary event.

banner-book-babble

“I yam what I yam an’ tha’s all I yam.” – Popeye, the Sailor Man

I just laughed when I read that. That’s the first page of the book, and it drew my attention because Popeye was one of my favorite cartoon characters. (Don’t ask me why because I don’t remember) I think this speaks a lot about the main characters in the story, Frie and Robin.

Fat Girl Fairy Boy tells the story of two different people with opposite upbringings that caused them to be people not easily accepted in society. A part of the book dwells on how Robin and Frie were raised and shows how they became who they are in the present. Through their industry, they met each other and had become really good friends. I think they are both lucky to have found each other and that they were the ones who had to endure their horrible fate together. For being two different people, they were able to care for each other really well in such testing times. It was a wonderful relationship that I think we can attribute to Carol McConkie’s good writing.

The story devotes a lot of its contents on character development, and shows how the frail and sickly Robin and the cold and independent Frie change throughout their experiences. It also provides insight on other characters in the story. I think that there are a lot of psychological implications with a lot of the characters, and I find it fascinating how each one turned out.

I was drawn in from the first few chapters, but after a while, some parts got quite slow for me. I think it’s because I was mostly expecting to see their hostage situation rather than other parts of their life. But I think it was still interesting overall. However, I honestly did not like the ending because I felt it was too abrupt. I wish more details were fleshed out before jumping to the epilogue.

P.S. This book contains mature content.

**************************************************

OVERALL, this was a well-written tale of horrors and desperation, anger and vengeance, courage and bravery. The start of the story was a little slow, but it was interlaced with humor and interesting characters so I think it was entertaining enough. Their capture was simply terrifying. Frie and Robin had to embrace their inner strength and bravery, rely on their solid friendship, and work together in facing internal and external demons.

RATING:

3.5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
2 thoughts on “ARC Book Review: Fat Girl Fairy Boy by Carol McConkie

  1. You and I liked the opposite parts of the story! I thought the parts about their childhoods were the most well written, and didn’t like the hostage scenes very much. But I do agree that it was all wrapped up a bit quickly – I wanted to see more of their moving on!

Leave a Reply

