Book Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone

mm-series-september

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page~

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page~

favoriteTitle: Daughter of Smoke & Bone
Author: Laini Taylor
Published: September 27, 2011
Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN13: 9780316133999
Format: Paperback
Series: Daughter of Smoke & Bone #1
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.
In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.
And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.
Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages–not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.
When one of the strangers–beautiful, haunted Akiva–fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

banner-book-babble

I fell in love with this book from the first page before the story even started. Laini Taylor has her own way with words that spins a wonderful tale filled with wonderful characters, otherworldly ideas, shocking revelations, and so much more. Reading all the hundreds of pages was simply wonderful.

The story is divided into four parts through a short introduction that I find really appealing. There are only a few words, but they are beautifully written. I find it more appealing that each chapter has its own title, and a lot of them made me smile or even laugh. I also like the feathers and symbols used in the design of the book that made it so much prettier.

Karou was raised up by Brimstone, a chimera. Not much is known about them, but secrets will unfold along the way. One thing is for sure though, Karou is not a normal human. She grows up living in two different worlds with abilities she has very little knowledge about.

Laini Taylor conjured a unique world with so much detail that simply drew me in. From the history of the angels and chimeras, as well as the main characters, much can be understood about what Karou has to face. As more and more mysteries unfold, I was more and more captivated by the wonders of the story and characters.

I think my favorite part was the design of the wish system, where they can own beads, coins, etc. that has its own value. And the capabilities of each depends on each kind. There can be really small wishes and there can be really great ones. But it’s not all topsy-turvy because a wish does not always ensure receiving good things, and there’s another reason that I shall no longer talk about. There’s also a factor of not being able to achieve everything by simply wishing.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Daughter of Smoke & Bone is a REALLY good start to series about angels and chimeras – world, conflict, romance, and hope. The cover is as gorgeous as the content. All the thoughts and ideas in this book are simply mind-blowing. I cannot even fully explain the magnificence of this book, and I highly recommend it. This is yet another series to follow, and I think that it would be worth it. I have yet to read the sequels, but I am very much looking forward to them if they are written as awesome as this one.

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
7 thoughts on “Book Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone

  1. I am so behind in the awesome books! I NEED to read this. I am seeing it everywhere, and it just sounds like something I would love. The story and characters sound so unique, which is something that I really applaud in the YA genre, as sometimes books can seem a little repetitive.
    I am looking forward to reading the author’s writing style, and to understand what you mean about it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

