Book Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page~

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page~

Title: Legend
Author: Marie Lu
Published: November 29, 2011
Publisher: Speak
ISBN13: 9780142422076
Format: Paperback
Series: Legend #1
Acquisition: Bought

From different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths…
t1Until June’s brother is murdered, and Day becomes the prime suspect.
In a shocking turn of events, the two uncover what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths to which their country will go to keep its secrets.

bb

I find it really interesting that Legend was inspired by Les Miserables. I also think that Marie Lu’s professional experience in a video game company has greatly influenced her in writing this book. The story is nothing like Les Miserables, except for the part where the detective or officer hunts down a criminal.

I like how very little is given in the synopsis. It allowed me to be open about the book, and not expect so much. The only thing I really knew was that a LOT of people loved this book, and i have become one of them after reading. I must confess that I never felt like reading this book even though I have been seeing it a lot. I guess I had different notions about it, but I am so glad that I actually got myself a copy.

Day is the most notorious criminal in California, and the hardest to capture because no one knows who he really is or what he looks like. His identity is not in the system. When June, the Prodigy, finds out about how Day killed her brother, she will stop at nothing to find him and bring his brother’s case to justice.

I love Day and I hate June. To me, Day was more like a futuristic Robin Hood, instead of Jean Valjean. Day didn’t really seek much of another life. He stayed true to himself and his good heart shines throughout. I think the gold font used for his voice in the story is very fitting. On the other hand, I find June to be very bitchy. I don’t think I can really blame her considering the tragedies that befell her family, but I definitely had a hard time of accepting her. She thinks too highly of herself, and she is easily blinded by the system.

br

OVERALL, Legend is an action-packed, emotion-filled, and intelligent novel about two very different people in an imperfect futuristic world. Driven by deep motives, Day and June will do anything to achieve what they need or want, even if it may not always be the best. Marie Lu is definitely inspired and it has been a really great pleasure to read her debut novel. She simply took my breath away. I’m very interested to know what lies ahead for Day and June.

1-heart

5-star

Check me out at: Twitter ll Goodreads ll Instagram ll Tumblr

s

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
8 thoughts on “Book Review: Legend by Marie Lu

  1. Ooooo! I have this book waiting to be read, and I didn’t really know much about it until now. I think it’s awesome that it’s based off Les Mis, and I am interested to see how this comes through in the story!
    I definitely like the sound of Day as a character, and I can’t wait to read this now 😀
    Awesome review, Francine!

Leave a Reply

