Indie-Credible Priya Kanaparti (+ Giveaway)

It’s finally September 18! Today Priya Kanaparti answers some questions about herself and her books. For the past few days, I’ve been posting excerpts from her books, which you can find here (Forever Kinda Love), here (Butterfly Pieces), and here (Dracian Legacy). They have answers to our GIVEAWAY below~

Before we start the Interview, here are some basic info about the author and her books.

6526707

Priya Kanaparti was born in India, grew up in Detroit, and is now settled in Boise, ID. She attended Wayne State University for her undergrad degree in Bachelor of Science in Biology, and University of Phoenix for her Masters in Business Administration. Priya works as a project manager in software field during the day and lives in the world of her characters during the nights and weekends.
She had found the love for reading and writing in 2012, when she stayed home with her son and needed something to occupy those ‘downtime’ hours.
She loves playing tennis on a good summer day and chess during the cold winters, but reading and writing has become a year round hobby.
She lives in Boise with her husband, son and a Yorkie. Dracian Legacy is her debut novel.
Check her: Blog ll Facebook ll Twitter ll Goodreads ll Pinterest
Her Books:
Dracian Legacy Series: Dracian Legacy ll Dracian Origins ll Dracian Sacrifice ll Dracian Revolution
Forever Kinda Love
Butterfly Pieces

banner-author-appearance

INTERVIEW:

Welcome dear reader and to the wonderful Priya Kanaparti. I’m so excited to get to know more about you~

Hi Francine – Thank you so much for having me on your blog! It means so much to me that you take time to talk to me :).

Let’s start with the standard of all interviews – tell me something about yourself (not book-related because we’ll get to that later *winks*)

Hmm… Something about me… I work full time as a senior Project Manager, I have a 2.5 year old son and I’ve been married for 9.5 years to my wonderful husband. Oh and I love to use !!! and 🙂 when I type. Lol.

What do you do when you’re not writing?

Most of my days are filled with spending time with my little boy, if I’m not working or not writing. It’s amazing how kids can keep both parents quite busy!

It’s a gift and a curse. (I kid) Now let’s go to the bookish things~

I know you have 3 or 4 upcoming books so if you could tweet about them, can you tell us what the book will be about in 140 characters or less?

Haha. Um.. This might be tough, but let’s give it a shot!

Dracian Legacy is about a girl that’s been brought up a human and finds out she’s the savior of a powerful human race called Dracians.

Forever Kinda Love is about two people that become best friends who fall in love and willing to do anything to keep the other happy.

Butterfly Pieces is about a girl who struggles with false appearances until she meets a race-car junkie that challenges her to be true to herself.

Those books seem so interesting and I can’t wait for their release! Where do you draw inspiration for your characters? Do they come from real people or do you associate yourself with some of your characters?

My stories all start with a strike of idea. From there the progress of it really is inspired by thinks I see or read – television shows to something I read on internet to new stories… So I guess you can say that it’s a little bit of everything.

As for associating myself with my characters – if I did that, no one will be reading what I write, because my life is pretty bland and boring. Lol.

From all the praise Dracian Legacy is getting, I find it hard to believe that your life would still be bland and boring.

If you were a character in any of your books, who would it be and why?

I think I’d really like to be Ace from Forever Kinda Love. Mostly because I’ve always wanted a best friend from childhood and I don’t.  She meets Heath when she’s eight and they fast become bestfriends and stay that way.

I’ll be  your best friend, as long as you feed me stories~ 😛

When did you start writing, and what inspired you to do so?

Truthfully, I started writing last year, precisely 2/2012.  What inspired me was my new found love to reading books. I stayed home to take care of my boy and I felt unchallenged that I picked up books to read and one book turned into 50 and then my own stories started to fill my head. So two months later I sat down to write my first sentence of Dracian Legacy :).

Awesome, from all that reading, I’d love to know – how big is your bookshelf?

I actually prefer digital to hard copies. SO my bookshelf is pretty scarce. However my Kindle currently has 552 books. Of which I still need to read 120 books.

Wow. That is a lot!  So what are your favorite books of all time?

  • The Diary of Anne Frank
  • To Kill a Mockingbird
  • The Covenant Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • The Significance Series by Shelly Crane

And what is your favorite literary quote?

“People generally see what they look for, and hear what they listen for.”

― Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

Awesome, and now we’re nearing the end so let’s have a little fun~

I personally LOVE food & drinks while reading, so what food and drink would you suggest we pair up with your books?

 Oh, I never thought of his… Maybe Pepsi and/or Rocky road Ice cream?

Give us 5 fun facts about you~ (can be bookish, personality, or writing quirks or basically anything you can think of)

  • I love Cheesecake
  • I played college tennis
  • I was a pre-med student, but currently work as a project manager.
  • I write at nights from 10 p.m. until I’m ready to fall asleep on my computer.
  • I hated my HS nickname, until I’ve grown used to it to the point I started responded to the name.

And lastly, tell/write us a joke~

Knock Knock

Who’s there?

God.

God who?

God, I’m terrible at telling jokes.

*crickets*

I actually laughed at that one. Haha! That’s all we have for today. Thank you, Priya, for being a wonderful guest.

Again thank you so much for having me on your blog!

That’s a wrap~

To you dear reader, thank you for sticking around and don’t forget to click on the banner for the Rafflecopter Giveaway! Win books or swag~ This lasts for the whole month!

banner-giveaway

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

3 thoughts on “Indie-Credible Priya Kanaparti (+ Giveaway)

  1. Pingback: Indie-Credible Book Tour Schedule! | creativedeeds

Leave a Reply

