Book Review: Deviants by Maureen McGowan

mm-series-september

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Deviants
Author: Maureen McGowan
Published: October 30, 2012
Publisher: Amazon Children’s Publishing
ASIN: B00749XXLS
Format: Kindle Edition
Series: Dust Chronicles #1
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

In a post-apocalyptic world, where the earth is buried by asteroid dust that’s mutated the DNA of some humans, orphaned, sixteen-year-old Glory must hide and protect her younger brother. If their Deviant abilities are discovered, they’ll be expunged—kicked out of the dome to be tortured and killed by the Shredders. Glory would give anything to get rid of her unique ability to kill with her emotions, especially when Cal, the boy she’s always liked, becomes a spy for the authorities. But when her brother is discovered, and she learns their father, who was expunged for killing their mother, is still alive, she must escape the domed city that’s been her entire world.
Outside in the ruins, they’re pursued by the authorities and by sadistic, scab-covered Shredders who are addicted to the lethal-to-humans dust now covering the planet. Glory’s quests to transport herself and her brother to safety make up the thrilling and fascinating first volume of The Dust Chronicles.

banner-book-babble

Glory is Deviant, and so is her brother. Deviants have special abilities that are punishable by exile from the dome, where they are thrown out to be consumed by the harsh dust surrounding the dome and be attacked by the Shredders, a very hostile group of people, if you can even still call them people. They are very morbid and barbaric in torturing anyone they can find. In this first book, Glory must work hard to keep herself and her brother safe.

I think that the greatest part of this book was the really good world building. I find it interesting that the lower class citizens are the ones living in the upper floors and the upper class citizens are the ones living underground. It shows a great shift in the way the world works. Glory also lives in the time where the people are so ingrained in their way of living that most of her world views are a lot different than what we know. There is a lot to be seen, and I don’t really want to spoil any more of it.

I must say though that I did not like Glory very much. I guess it’s because she thinks to differently that it just felt so twisted and all her thoughts felt so ridiculous. I think I kind of understand her tendency to not trust others, but I do not like how she wouldn’t even listen to her own brother, who she has sworn to protect at all costs. I guess she’s a little too uptight and imposing for my liking.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Deviants was a really great read with a very unique post-apocalyptic fantasy world, which I think is the biggest strength of this book. The main character, Glory, was quite disagreeable so I wasn’t able to fully enjoy this, but all other aspects were just wonderful in their own little ways. This book is just a bundle of surprises and I recommend it. I think it also opens up a lot of possibilities for the sequels, and  would like to know what comes next.

4-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
2 thoughts on “Book Review: Deviants by Maureen McGowan

Leave a Reply

