Series: To Wait Or Not to Wait

mm-series-september

banner-random-ramblings

Random Ramblings: Talking about random thoughts on books, blogging, myself, the world, etc. Anything under the sun~

break-1

There are SO MANY book series nowadays and there are more and more coming. I personally find it so hard to keep up with all of them. My main problem with each book series is that I usually have to wait a long time before I can even read the next book. When I see a book series, I always ask myself “Should I read this now or should I wait for the series to end first?” and it’s a question that is always hard to answer.

I do both actually. There are times I would buy the first book already even if it has been the only that has been released. But there are other times that I would wait for the whole series to end. It’s such a big conundrum for me. And I personally think that there are benefits to each.

hp1For choosing to follow the series as it comes out one by one over the years, one can be part of something bigger. For example, during the time Harry Potter came out, a lot of people were into the book that they would even line up for the release. Everyone would be talking about it and all that. I was not part of that though because I wasn’t allowed to read Harry Potter back then, but I feel like I missed something. This was actually a point my brother gave me when I told him I wanted to wait for a series to finish before buying the books. There’s more to it than just reading. There’s a possibility of connecting with others all over the world.

1362664476920Another perk for following a series is that the first people to buy the book/s get something extra. I see a lot of promos where you get merchandise for pre-ordering or something like that. The one I personally received was the Alex extra short story in Lauren Oliver’s Requiem. I’m not sure if the short story was released elsewhere because when I found out about it, Lauren Oliver said that the story would only be found on the first hardcover print of Requiem. So I totally went crazy because I love the series and I really really love Alex. So I really made sure that I would get that book, which I did.

Now let’s go to the other side~

08022013379Completed book series have box sets that are sometimes cheaper then buying each book separately. Also, it helps that the boxes look so pretty and they keep the books intact. Β haven’t actually bought a series box set yet because I’m usually too poor to spend that kind of money in one go, but I compare prices and box sets normally come out better. I’ve only bought one (the Divergent-Insurgent set), and it definitely came out cheaper and I got a little extra. But it’s not complete yet so I don’t think it counts for this side of the team. Haha!

Buyers also have the option to get the books in paperback or hardcover (most of the time anyway). I personally prefer getting paperbacks for book series because there are so many and getting the hardcovers will easily empty out my wallet. I do have hardcovers though. Anyway, most of the time, when a book has been first released, it will only be in one format – either paperback or hardcover. And each one of us has our own preference so of course we would need to wait it out.

9And then there’s the change on cover art. I HATE it when that happens in the middle of a series because I want them all to look the same. I’ve been a victim to this already where I buy the first to second book and then the cover art suddenly changes. It’s one of my personal frustrations. See my cover of Across the Universe by Beth Revis. I don’t know if any of the sequels have the same cover art as this one, but I surely haven’t found one.

61579774513412377

Also, it just so happens that some re-prints also have extras while the first ones do not. For example, Starters by Lissa Price. Not only did this book change covers, it also has the extra story in the re-print. And I love-hate it because I adore this book so much. I want to buy the new version so that it would match Enders when it comes out. I haven’t bought it yet though but I really plan to. Plus I already saw it and it really is pretty.

In the end, I think that there is really no safe answer to this problem. If you were rich, maybe it would be okay because you can simply buy all the different editions and be happy with your life. But for people like me, I can only really afford one version of each book even if I want all the others. I don’t really know what’s the best way to approach this so…

Give me what you got~

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

14 thoughts on “Series: To Wait Or Not to Wait

  1. This is the second time this week that I’ve seen this issue come up! I definitely think it’s better to read all of the books in a series at once, but it can be SO hard to wait when everyone else is talking about a book and you haven’t read it. I’ve actually held off on reading Divergent because I figured I was already behind and I might as well wait until the last book was out. So, I guess I’d say, I wait for the whole series if I can, but usually I just end up reading books as they come out!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

  2. And here’s the operative phrase: “If you were rich.” Oh how that would solve so many problems!

    I’m on both ends of the spectrum as well. The thing with series that bugs me the most is changing covers: it causes physical pain to know that my books don’t line up with each other *shudder* As far as hardcover vs. paperback, I tend to like paperback more, but on Amazon the hardbacks are usually only 2-3 dollars more so I spring for the hardback so I can read the book sooner.

    I want to read the Shatter Me series, but I’m waiting until Ignite Me comes out so I can buy the boxed set.But then there’s the Divergent series, and I bought the first two books so I could read them and then be part of the excitement when Allegiant comes out!

    I guess in the end it depends on how well the books were reviewed, and if I want to take a chance on them or just wait till the whole series is out. If it’s one I HAVE TO READ, I’ll buy them as the series is released.

    Great post!

    • Yes. I wish I were rich. haha

      I totally agree with the cover thing. It’s just awful. I wish I could find cheap hardbacks in my country, but there’s very little chance that I could so most of my books are paperbacks.

      Oh, I am loving the Shatter Me series and Ignite Me is taking so long to come out! I’m also waiting on Allegiant. I’m waiting on a lot of things…

      I guess so. I’m glad that a lot of people all over the internet talk about these books. It helps, but it also makes my TBR list grow way too much.

      Thanks! πŸ˜€

  3. I tried to read The Secret Immortal Life of Nicholas Flammel series. I bought the first four and only read the first two. I spent all that money to buy three and four in one go and they just sit.

    With Gayle Forman, I chose not to read Where She Left, the sequel to If I Stay which I loved. However, I will be definitely getting Just One Year, the sequel to Just One Day. So, it varies for me.

    I do remember Harry Potter and the excruciating waits for each book. Then the movies. Oi. I am glad that is done with.

    I am just not a fan of series anymore. I get too bored.

    -indiereadergirl0329
    indiewritergirl0329.wordpress.com

  4. I don’t think I’ve ever made the concious decision to wait until all the books were out in a series before buying it. I’m kind of impulsive in that if I want to read a book I read it…and the complain that I have to wait a year for the next one. Sometimes I jump in when the series is still going strong with 8 books and more to come.
    I was one of those at the midnight releases with Harry Potter and there hasn’t really been anything like that since. It’s definitely something I would love to share with those that missed out. It would be amazing to have another series like that come along so I can do it all over it again.

    • I’m the kind of person who has to buy the book before I read it so I guess that decision falls a lot on me, but at least I know you complain about the wait too. Haha! The wait is just horrible especially with books that end in cliff-hangers.

      You’re so lucky. I do wonder if that would ever really happen again. And when it does, I hope I’d be living in America already. πŸ˜›

  5. I have no patience whatsoever, so if it’s a series I really really like, then I’ll pretty much always buy the books on the day they come out. I don’t think I’ve ever actually bought a boxset to be honest haha. I am going to buy the boxset of the Legend series though, because I don’t own any of them, but really like the series!

  6. I, too, do both. Sometimes it’s completely unintentional and I curse myself after the fact that I have to wait a year or so for the next book, and other times it’s simply because I don’t know how many books are going to be in the series, so why not read them while I know I’ll enjoy them? One series I do not wait for are the “Richard Castle” novels because, even though they are definitely not the most well-written books, they tie in with Castle the tv series so well, and sometimes offer hints of what’s to come, that they give you something more to enjoy in the here and now.

    Also, there are some series I would love to do this with: “If you were rich, maybe it would be okay because you can simply buy all the different editions and be happy with your life.” But since it’s not going to happen anytime soon, I tend to be happy with the editions I get.

    • Hahaha! I totally understand because I unintentionally start some book series too and totally flip out when the book ends in a cliff-hanger. I haven’t really heard of that series, but it must be great to be able to watch it play out.

      I think a lot of people can relate to that. Why must publishers torment us with all the different editions. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

