ARC Review: Unreap My Heart by Kate Evangelista

WARNING: This is a review on a SECOND BOOK IN A SERIES. There may be some spoilers on book 1, Reaping Me Softly. You can check out my REAPING ME SOFTLY REVIEW HERE, and be assured that book 2 is just as awesome. Personally, I think that book 2 can be read without reading book 1, but the experience won’t be as great. 😉 You can also skip to the OVERALL and rating part to know how much I loved this book without getting spoiled~

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: Unreap My Heart
Authors: Kate Evangelista
Publication Date: September 17, 2013
Publisher: Omnific Publishing
Series: The Reaper Series #2
Format: eARC

Acquisition: Omnific Publishing

Purchase at: Amazon ll The Book Depository ll Barnes & Nobles ll Omnific Publishing

Only a villain can save the day.
During his thousand year banishment in the Nethers, Balthazar thought of nothing but taking over the Crossroads from Death.
On the day he puts his plans into action, Balthazar finds the Crossroads on lockdown. Death has been stabbed by Brianne’s Bitterness, a blade that slowly leaches him of his powers. In order to challenge Death for his seat and prevent utter chaos, Balthazar is forced into a mission to find the Redeemer, the only being capable of pulling out the blade from Death’s chest. The only person who can identify the Redeemer is a human girl in the Crossroads whose soul is still attached to her body.
Meeting Arianne Wilson pushes Balthazar’s patience to the limit. In a deal he makes with Death, he must protect Arianne during their journey through the Underverse using all the resources available to him. He soon realizes the one he needs to protect is himself. For as much harm as it inflicts on Balthazar’s body, trekking through the Underverse with Arianne is proving more dangerous for his heart and soul.
Can the villain remain a villain when love gets in the way?

banner-book-babble

After reading Reaping Me Softly, I was team Niko (Reaper of Georgia and Ari’s love interest) all the way. And when I saw the synopsis of Unreap My Heart and started reading it, I felt like no way would I fall in love with Balthazar. A scary villain? No way. But I was massively wrong! I tried to resist it but I just really couldn’t. Despite being evil, he has his charm. He made me laugh and swoon. Right now, I’m not sure which guy Ari should choose, but as a reader, I can have them both~ Unless something happens in book 3 that may make or break my heart. We’ll see~

Unreap My Heart definitely has a different tone from Reaping Me Softly. In this book, everything’s not so simple anymore as Ari has to bargain with the people of the Underverse. Things can get really tricky and one must not simply trust another being. It was definitely an emotional roller coaster as Ari and Balthazar face different characters and obstacles along the way. Since the Underverse is something that is quite new, it was truly wonderful and somewhat scary to learn more about it. Kate Evangelista mixes the familiar with her own spin-off – ogres, angels, etc. Although I think there are still some secrets that have yet to be unlocked. Also, I think there’s more mature content in this one with a couple of swear words and sexual references.

Oh, and can I just say asdfghjklasdfghjkl to the ending. I think Kate Evangelista may just have so much more in store for us in the next book. Oh, and I also like how I saw some characters from Reaping Me Softly.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Unreap My Heart was definitely a step up from book 1. I honestly didn’t know what to expect, and Kate Evangelista definitely surprised me with the turn of events in this book. Arianne had to traverse the Underverse with the villain, Balthazar. I definitely enjoyed learning more about the Balthazar and the Underverse, meeting new characters and finding about this world they lived in. After wowing me with Reaping Me Softly and showing me so much more with Unreap My Heart, Kate Evangelista has truly won me over with her remarkable writing skill, wit, and humor. She spins wonderful worlds of adventure, action, humor, romance, and whimsy, and I would definitely want to read the rest of her books. I would even buy the paperback copies even though they’re a little expensive because her books are that awesome. Also, NEXT BOOK PLEEEASE!!!

RATING:

5-star

P.S. Thanks to Traci at Omnific Publishing for my copy~

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
4 thoughts on “ARC Review: Unreap My Heart by Kate Evangelista

  1. I still have Reaping Me Softly on my Kindle, waiting to be read, so I didn’t read your whole review. But I take your word for it and I’ll get my little butt moving so I can be ready for book 2 when it comes out!

  2. I did like the first book, although the insta-love killed me (and the end with Ben? WHAT WAS THAT?) I may, just may, read the second. I hope Ari matured a little and doesn’t now see Balthazar has the end all. And, remember Nico? I hope she remembers him a little in this. Is this a trilogy, do you know?

    -indiereadergirl0329

    • I don’t really have qualms against insta-love as long as it’s well-written. I believe it happens. I know it has. Haha. (Yes. I know!) Anyway, I think it would do you great to read the second book because there’s so much more to know about. 😄 And yes, it’s a trilogy.

Leave a Reply

