[Blog Tour + Giveaway] Book Review: AMERICAN GIRL ON SATURN by Nikki Godwin

agosbanner

Follow the rest of the tour by clicking on the banner~

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: American Girl on Saturn Author: Nikki Godwin Date of Publication: August 29, 2013 Genre: contemporary YA romance Purchase at:  Amazon | B&N | Smashwords Acquisition: Oops! I Read Again Tours

The summer after graduation is supposed to be that first real taste of freedom – but not for eighteen-year-old Chloe Branson. Just as that breeze of freedom is making its way into her galaxy, her secret-service-agent dad drops a meteor-sized bomb of bad news on her and her sisters. An attempt has been made on the lives of Canadian boyband, Spaceships Around Saturn, during their USA tour, and the guys have to go into hiding ASAP. The only problem? In the midst of the crisis and media frenzy, their dad volunteered to hide the guys…in their house. Six-year-old Emery is as ecstatic as any self-proclaimed Saturnite would be, but Chloe and her seventeen-year-old sister Aralie watch their summer plans crash and burn like a falling star. The SAS guys aren’t happy with the situation, either. Bad boy Jules picks fights with Aralie about everything from his Twitter followers to his laundry, and heart-throb Benji can’t escape Emery’s fangirlisms for more than three minutes. But after the super-cute Milo kisses Chloe during a game of hide-and-seek, she finally understands what Emery means when she talks about SAS being “out of this world.” If this is what Saturn feels like, Chloe doesn’t want to come back to Earth.

banner-book-babble WARNING: Excessive fangirling will ensue. EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!! I LOVE AMERICAN GIRL ON SATURN! I LOVE SPACESHIPS AROUND SATURN! I LOVE MILO GRAYSON! I LOVE NOAH WINTERS! I LOVE BENJI BACCARINI! I LOVE NIKKI GODWIN! I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK!! Oh, and I also love Emily Godwin for her American Girl On Saturn Countdown on her blog. I’ve become a true Saturnite. I even followed Benji Baccarini on Twitter. Okay. Sorry about that. Well, I’m not really sorry. I love this book and I’m not ashamed about it.

Let me just say that I’ve never really fangirled over boy bands. It just hasn’t really been my thing. I’m not sure if it’s weird that I’m fangirling over fictional ones, but I certainly have no regrets about it. This book was out of this world. 😛 I like how Nikki Godwin uses some outer space/galactic/planetary references within the book. They were definitely amusing. She also wrote songs and really beautiful and sweet moments. The characters were all really awesome too. Being on lockdown with a group of swoon-worthy, adorable boys who can sing can simply just be a dream to most girls. I don’t really know if this could really happen for anyone, but just being able to live in that kind of dream through this book was amazing.

My heart fluttered and melted for 3/5ths of Spaceship Around Saturn. I think that’s mostly because the story follows Chloe Branson, the eldest of the Branson sisters, who got close to those 3 – Milo, Noah, and Benji. The 2/5ths of SAS hung out more with Aralie who kept more to herself most of the time. I do, however, love the change in Aralie at the end of the book, and I may just really love the other two boys if I had gotten to know them better. Oh, and add to the group the most adorable little Saturnite that is the 5-year-old Emery who just adores Benji.

Overall, I loved each and every prominent character that stepped foot into the Branson mansion throughout the whole lockdown – the Branson sisters, their parents, their pseudo-grandfather, Spaceship Around Saturn boys, and even SAS’s bodyguard. Honestly, I just really love everything about this book. American Girl on Saturn is the book with the most written down on my review notebook, because I was just so into it and there was so much I loved. However, I don’t really want to spoil any more of it so I can’t really get into the details much. I think people should be able to enjoy it for themselves. Oh, and I also posted a book blitz post for this book with an excerpt from the book if anyone wants a taste~

**************************************************

OVERALL, I really really love American Girl on Saturn. It’s definitely on one of the top spots on my list of favorite contemporary romances and favorite romantic comedies. It made me laugh out loud, fall in love, and melt into a puddle of adoration and happiness. As a lover of chick lit, this book was just perfect to me, despite the emotional roller coaster ride. American Girl on Saturn gave me the worst ever book hangover that I have ever experienced, and I would love to fangirl with other people so I hope others read this and love it as much as I do. I would proudly wear a Saturnite shirt~

RATING:

5-star

nikki godwinNikki Godwin is a Young Adult/New Adult author from the southern USA. She is a city girl who can’t live without Mountain Dew, black eyeliner, Hawthorne Heights, and candles from Bath & Body Works. When not writing, she’s not-so-secretly internet-stalking her favorite bands. She may or may not completely love One Direction. Author Links Blog: nikkigodwin.blogspot.com Twitter: @NikGodwin Facebook: Nikki Godwin, YA Author

banner-giveaway

Signed American Girl on Saturn paperback + signed bookmarks + Saturnite magnets [INTL]

P.S. I will be so so jealous of the winner of this giveaway. I want them all for myself!

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
2 thoughts on “[Blog Tour + Giveaway] Book Review: AMERICAN GIRL ON SATURN by Nikki Godwin

Leave a Reply

