Book Review: A Tale of Two Centuries by Rachel Harris

WARNING: This is a review of a second book in the My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century series, and may contain spoilers for the first book. To see my review for book 1, click here. You may also jump to the OVERALL and rating part of my review to know how much I loved this book.

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: A Tale of Two Centuries
Author: Rachel Harris
Published: August 6, 2013
Publisher: Entangled Teen
ISBN13: 9781622660124
Format: Paperback
Series: My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century #2
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Alessandra D’Angeli is in need of an adventure. Tired of her sixteenth-century life in Italy and homesick for her time-traveling cousin, Cat, who visited her for a magical week and dazzled her with tales of the future, Alessandra is lost. Until the stars hear her plea.
One mystical spell later, Alessandra appears on Cat’s Beverly Hills doorstep five hundred years in the future. Surrounded by confusing gadgets, scary transportation, and scandalous clothing, Less is hesitant to live the life of a twenty-first century teen…until she meets the infuriating—and infuriatingly handsome—surfer Austin Michaels. Austin challenges everything she believes in…and introduces her to a world filled with possibility.
With the clock ticking, Less knows she must live every moment of her modern life while she still can. But how will she return to the drab life of her past when the future is what holds everything she’s come to love?

banner-book-babble

Honestly, I wasn’t very excited about this book when I read that it would be about Alessandra D’angeli and not Cat Crawford, the main character in My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century. However, after reading A Tale of Two Centuries, I may just love it more than the first book.

In A Tale of Two Centuries, Alessandra or Less has grown up and has come to realize that she wants so much more in her life than what the sixteenth century provides for her. She is a woman born too early for her time. She wanted to experience more in life and the fates granted her wishes. She is transported into the twenty-first century for a limited time so that she can sate her thirst for adventure. However, she was also raised to be the prim and proper lady her time called for, and she is horrified by most of what she finds in the twenty-first century. It was definitely amusing to read about her misunderstandings and struggles in acclimating in this new world. I simply could not contain my laughter.

Alessandra has always dreamt of being an actress, which was never a possibility in her time where there were certain expectations for the ladies. When Cat visited her time, she was able to have a taste of it, and it was an experience she couldn’t forget. In the twenty-first century, she grabs onto the opportunities to let her passion shine, and people around her recognized her natural talent. However, she also finds out that there is so much more than just living out her passion.

Austin Michaels is the bad boy who challenges Alessandra into bringing out her true self more, even if it means enraging her most of the time. Being forced to pair up in a school project, Austin and Alessandra can’t really avoid each other, and it was definitely a blessing from the heavens because they turned out to be good for each other. Austin was able to show his sweet and sensitive side, while Alessandra was able to step out of the box she kept herself in for sixteen years of her life.

There were side characters that could have caused trouble but I’m so glad they didn’t. I hate it when people go through so much sabotaging just to get what they want. Kendal, who thinks so highly of herself and is Austin’s ex, was branded as the very bitchy actress/classmate. She threw in a couple of insults and hateful glares, but she did not directly attack Alessandra. There was also Reid, a famous actor, who was very attracted to Alessandra. He did a lot of flirting and attempts to ask her out, but he never put her in a compromising position that could hurt Alessandra’s relationship with Austin. And that’s why I like them despite being points of conflict in the story.

Despite being Alessandra’s story, A Tale of Two Centuries also shows Cat Crawford, the beloved character I met in My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century. She doesn’t show as much, but I really enjoyed learning how she was doing and what more was in store for her. I think the focus will return to her in the last book, and I can’t wait to know where it will go. And there’s a charming guy named Lucas who is definitely lovable. I swear that he’s really sweet in this book so I can’t wait to get to know him more.

And is it just me or is this book more mature than the first?

**************************************************

OVERALL, A Tale of Two Centuries was definitely a very pleasant surprise that I ended up loving more than the first book. This book is not just about falling in love and fulfilling dreams. It’s also about taking chances, making choices, and finding strength in one’s self. I just felt really happy and uplifted after reading this book. This is definitely a feel-good book and I love it to bits. It made me laugh so much. It made my heart flutter. It made me fall in love. It made me want to do things. All in all, it turned me into a big ball of happiness. I’m super excited to see the last (is it the last?) book of the series.

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

