ARC Review: Notable by Marni Bates

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Notable
Authors: Marni Bates
Publication Date: October 29, 2013
Publisher: K-Teen
Series: Awkward #3
Format: eARC
Acquisition: Netgalley

Purchase at: Amazon

I take no prisoners…
I’m Chelsea Halloway and I will happily destroy your social life if you mess with me. Just ask anyone. There is no situation I can’t handle. Divorcing parents? No problem. An ex-boyfriend who wants to date Smith High School’s biggest geek instead of me? Just a matter of time before I can make him see reason. At least, until my parents decide to ship me off on a study abroad trip to Cambodia…
Now instead of being admired as the queen of the Notables, I’m stuck with a bunch of college students who don’t take me seriously, and a professor who accidentally landed himself on the wrong side of a drug lord. And it’s up to me to get us all out of the country alive–even the annoying jerk with the green eyes who won’t stop calling me “princess.”
Oh yeah, what could possibly go wrong?

banner-book-babble

I requested Notable, not knowing that it was the third book in a series. Thankfully, I didn’t really needed the first two books to understand what was going on and who the characters were. I guess it would have been better if I was able to read the first two books, but it still worked out just fine and I didn’t really feel lost while reading Notable.

What really got me interested in reading this book was the fact that the main character was the queen of the mean girls. I don’t think that there are a lot of books like that so it was definitely intriguing. I must confess that I even loved the mean girl more than the geeky underdog, which is quite a new thing for me. The fact that I didn’t get to know the geeky girl much may have played a role in me preference, but it doesn’t discount the fact that I actually liked Chelsea.

Chelsea is a mean girl , but she has her reasons. It doesn’t really make her a better person, but it surely helps in understanding her better. I guess it opens up this thought how hypocritical it is to hate the mean girl, when we barely know her. And because of that, I hated Houston because he was such a big jerk to Chelsea. He didn’t even give her a chance. At least the rest of the study group that accompanied her to Cambodia were decent enough to treat her better after a while.

Not only does Chelsea need to handle the big jerk, she also has to deal with her professor getting mixed up into the business of Cambodia’s richest and most influential drug lord. I personally think that facing off with a drug lord is a really stupid thing to do, but it’s also really brave and commendable. I was conflicted between getting really angry at her or cheering her on for wanting to save her professor with or without the rest of the group.

**************************************************

OVERALL, I think that Notable has a unique and intriguing concept in using the mean girl as the main character. To add to that, she goes on a life-changing trip to Cambodia with a bunch of interesting characters. My only problem is that some characters could be frustrating sometimes, but it all ended up pretty well so I was still able to like the book overall.

RATING:

4-star

P.S. Thanks to K-Teen and Netgalley for my copy~

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

