ARC Review: Waterfell by Amalie Howard

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Waterfell
Authors: Amalie Howard
Publication Date: October 29, 2013
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Series: The Aquarathi #1
Format: eARC
Acquisition: Netgalley

Purchase at: Amazon

THE GIRL WHO WOULD BE QUEEN
Nerissa Marin hides among teens in her human form, waiting for the day she can claim her birthright—the undersea kingdom stolen from her the day her father was murdered. Blending in is her best weapon—until her father’s betrayer confronts Nerissa and challenges her to a battle to the death on Nerissa’s upcoming birthday—the day she comes of age. 
Amid danger and the heartbreak of her missing mother, falling for a human boy is the last thing Nerissa should do. But Lo Seavon breaches her defenses and somehow becomes the only person she can count on to help her desperate search for her mother, a prisoner of Nerissa’s mortal enemy. Is Lo the linchpin that might win Nerissa back her crown? Or will this mortal boy become the weakness that destroys her?

banner-book-babble

Nerissa is the heir of the Aquarathi, but she cannot claim her throne until she comes of age. The problem is that she doesn’t even want to return to her kingdom and be queen. She took too much pleasure in the human world and neglected her Aquarathi studies and her responsibilities. Also the ruler of the Red Court murdered her father and plans to challenge her for the throne so it’s not really so easy for Nerissa.

Nerissa was a character that wasn’t easy to like because she sometimes acted like a spoiled brat. Well, she is a future queen, but still, it wasn’t easy to like her. She can be so infuriating sometimes, being all selfish and irrational. I guess her insecurities tend to make her a bad person, but I think there is a noticeable change in her as the story progresses. She becomes a stronger person. She also had to deal with the very attractive Lo who tried to get close to her. Of course she was wary. And I personally felt that Lo wasn’t to be trusted. I don’t really know why, but he just really felt too good to be true for me. I guess we’ll know more about him in the next book.

Jenna was a really awesome best friend. After finding about Nerissa’s secrets, she still cared so much for her friend. Of course she was still cautious of what Nerissa or Speio could do to her, but she learned to trust and even protect Nerissa. Oh, and this is yet another book where I fall in love with the side character with very little roles. I love Sawyer, Jenna’s boyfriend, because he was just so adorable and a great source of comic relief. Speio, the son of Nerissa’s Guradians and Nerissa’s Aquarathi best friend, is a very temperamental character. I’m not really sure what to feel about him. I think it’s pretty mixed because he has his good and bad moments. *SPOILER ALERT*He was a traitorous bastard!*END OF SPOILER*

The Aquarathi are very fascinating beings. *SPOILER ALERT* They are humongous sea creatures from another planet with very beautiful features. They have very beautiful and colorful scales, fins, and eyes. It’s also very interesting that the eyebrows of the royals are in crown shapes. And when they bond with another of their kind, they are marked by the color of their mate. They are able to take on the human form, but their eyes and hair color correspond to their Aquarathi forms.*END OF SPOILER*

**************************************************

OVERALL, Waterfell was definitely an interesting read filled with surprises. I had a lot of love-hate moments with the characters, but I liked the book overall. Amalie Howard was able to create new beings with their own society and kingdom. I personally liked reading about them. This book holds a lot of promise and I’m looking forward to knowing more in the next installment.

RATING:

4-star

P.S. Thanks to Apologue Entertainment, LLC and Netgalley for my copy~

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
3 thoughts on “ARC Review: Waterfell by Amalie Howard

  1. I just finished this one last night, and I feel pretty much the same way about it! Part of me really hated Riss and the writing style in general, but after 25% I was sucked in and couldn’t put it down no matter how hard I rolled my eyes! And ugh Speio like no baby don’t do this to me I thought we had something special DAMMIT.

Leave a Reply

