Book Review: Being Jamie Baker by Kelly Oram

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: Being Jamie Baker
Author: Kelly Oram
Published: June 14, 2010
Publisher: Bluefields
ASIN: B003UV98GS
Format: Kindle Edition
Series: Jamie Baker #1
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

An accident that should end in tragedy instead gives seventeen-year-old Jamie Baker a slew of uncontrollable superhuman abilities. To keep her secret safe Jamie socially exiles herself, earning the title of Rocklin High’s resident ice queen. But during a supercharged encounter with star quarterback Ryan Miller she literally kisses anonymity goodbye. Now the annoyingly irresistible Ryan will stop at nothing to melt the heart of the ice queen and find out what makes her so special. Unfortunately, Ryan is not the only person on to her secret. Will Jamie learn to contain her unstable powers before being discovered by the media or turned into a government lab rat? More importantly, can she throw Ryan Miller off her trail before falling in love with him?

banner-book-babble

She doesn’t really get her superpowers from the kiss, but it definitely started something. Ever since Jamie Baker entered Rocklin High, she has been keeping a safe distance from everyone in order to protect her secret abilities. And she was known as the Ice Queen for it. But when Ryan Miller made Jamie kiss him in order to win a bet, there was a very supernatural effect that greatly attracted Ryan to Jamie. And Ryan will do almost anything to break the ice and bring out the real Jamie Baker, and of course make her fall in love with him too.

Being Jamie Baker is the first superhero book that I ever fell in love with. Although I’m not really sure if she was really much of a superhero in this first book since she only saved two people. Jamie and Ryan do make a lot of superhero references though throughout the book, and those were certainly amusing. She associates herself most with Superman, mostly because all of her abilities are just super – super strength, super speed, super sight, super hearing, super taste, super smell, etc. She even has her Lois Lane counterpart, except it’s a 50-year-old man who is the worst stalker ever.

I think my favorite part of the book would have to be the characters, specifically Jamie and Ryan. Jamie has a very unique and wonderful voice that made me laugh so much and love her all at the same time. She’s definitely not perfect and she has her emotional moments, but I love her throughout all of it. And of course we have the sweet and IRRESISTIBLE Ryan Miller. Seriously. He is irresistible. He may seem a little cocky, but I just love how he’s just so straightforward and speaks his mind. It makes me laugh and just fall for him. Even though Jamie keeps on pushing him away, he was very determined to get close to Jamie. He is just really sweet, charming, and lovable.

I think I envy Jamie most for her ability to run to any place in America in only a matter of seconds or minutes. She is able to see all those beautiful sites and just go to places where there aren’t much people. It would be such a wonderful escape to be able to go to the Grand Canyon, Mount Rushmore, Lake Tahoe, or wherever in America. I’ve never been to any place in America, but I always have this urge to go to really quiet places where I can view the sky and greenery in peace.

The story got me hooked event though most of it was just about Jamie dealing with herself and Ryan. There are parts with some action too, and Jamie will try training to control her powers. But there aren’t really much of fighting or whatever superhero things. I guess it’s more about love, friendship, and just coping with everything.  All of it was just honestly interesting to me. But there is evil lurking about so there were some sitting-at-the-edge-of-my-seat moments. I personally really love the ending. I think Kelly Oram did really well with writing this book. Also, I love the extra Ryan POVs and I wish for so much more!

Also, this book has a really good book trailer.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Being Jamie Baker is a really hilarious and super adorable book about a girl who will learn to embrace her true self, her feelings, and her powers with the help of the swoon-worthy Ryan Miller. He was my favorite part. I love everything about this book, and it was still so awesome the second time I read it. Of course I wasn’t really surprised the second time around, but there were really good ones when I first read the book. This is one of my favorite debut novels and I definitely would recommend it.

RATING:

5-star

For a limited time Being Jamie Baker(Jamie Baker #1) is available for $.99 onAmazon and Barnes&Noble!

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

