Book Review: Serial Hottie by Kelly Oram

mm-one-only-october

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Serial Hottie
Author: Kelly Oram
Published: June 1, 2012
Publisher: Bluefields
ASIN: B008GR3SYO
Format: Kindle Edition
Series: N/A
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Hockey-obsessed tomboy Eleanor Westley has never been the object of a guy’s affection before. So when the hottest boy she’s ever seen moves in across the street and starts treating her like she’s the center of his universe, naturally she’s going to be a little skeptical. But everything starts to make sense when girls who look just like Ellie start dying all around the city. Obviously the new guy is the killer, and of course he only likes her because he wants to slice her into tiny pieces. Right?
The more Ellie gets to know Seth the more she’s convinced he’s a psychopathic killer. Problem is, he’s the sweetest psychopathic killer she’s ever met. Not to mention he’s brutally hot. No matter how hard she tries, she can’t help but fall for him. Will Ellie find true love, or will her summer of firsts turn out to be a summer of lasts?

banner-book-babble

Of all the Kelly Oram books, I think this one was the book that attracted me the least. I’m not really a big fan of mystery thrillers so I wasn’t sure if I would like it or not. But after much consideration, I think that this was a pretty good book. It’s not really chilling or scary or whatever, but there is some mind play.

I keep on trying to figure out who the serial killer is. Lots of girls with Ellie’s profile were being killed throughout the state. I wasn’t sure what to believe. There were a couple of potential suspects, and it certainly wasn’t easy when the occurrences and evidence were all pointing to Seth. In my mind, I kept on thinking it can’t be, but I was also swayed to thinking that it could be. For me, it was just hard to really tell who the serial killer could be. In my defense, I’ve never really been into mystery thrillers in the first place.

Ellie is a boyish tough girl who prefers hockey, large jerseys or shirts, and hanging out like she’s one of the guys. Her best friends are three hockey-loving guys. She knows how to play rough and doesn’t mind getting a little bloody. She even throws punches that can seriously hurt a guy. Because of that, the guys just see her as one of them, and some other people even question her sexual preference. But beneath that rough exterior is a girl who is attracted to the new, sexy neighbor across the street.

I personally like Ellie most, if not all, of the time. I was never the sporty, guy-ish kind of person, but I do have a lot of experience hanging out mostly with guys. I grew up with three brothers and no sisters, and most of my friends were guys so I could relate in a way. I think that Ellie wears her heart on her sleeve. She’s just open and maybe a little impulsive. What I really loved about her are those times she thought out loud, and it was just so funny because she gets caught by other people.

Ellie lives in the shadow of her preppy, pretty, and popular older sister, Angela. They have too many differences and they never get along. In truth, they really care about each other, but being siblings is never really easy. Angela always wanted a sister so she always tries to bring out the girl in Ellie – makeovers, guy talk, shopping, etc. She also likes playing matchmaker. I’ll admit that she’s hard to like, but at least she means well.

Their parents were pretty cool people too. Both of their parents have their own favorites and they take after each respective parent. Ellie is more like her dad. She’s definitely dad’s little girl because they both love sports, fights, and pretty much the same things. That’s why her dad has been always so overprotective of her, especially in this book where a serial killer could be after her and guys are starting to pay attention to her. Angela, on the other hand, is a lot like her mom. They’re both the girly kind of people and they’re always on each other’s side. They’re a pretty good family, and the whole family even has their adorable moments.

Seth is definitely a crazy guy. It was seriously hard to figure him out. He was mercurial. He’s definitely damaged, but the mood swings were definitely disconcerting. There were stalker tendencies too. However, like Ellie, I was attracted to him in some ways. I’m not really sure. He has his charm. I guess he’s a very complex character. I’d love to see a Seth POV book just so I could understand him better. There were two extras in the end of the book, but I definitely want more.

**************************************************

OVERALLSerial Hottie was definitely an interesting read with a serial killer on the loose and a dangerously attractive new neighbor across the street. The characters were all interesting in their own little ways, but a definite favorite would have to be Ellie. I think that she’s just really comfortable with her own skin. The only person who makes her feel uncomfortable is Seth, the neighbor. In an unforgettable summer vacation, Ellie will learn to step outside her comfort zone and learn as well as embrace all the other things in her life.

RATING:

4.5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
2 thoughts on “Book Review: Serial Hottie by Kelly Oram

  1. The synopsis puts me off a bit, since I really hate that whole “yeah he might be creepy but he loves me and he’s hot so oh well!” mentality. I think I’d read this one, but very skeptically 😛

Leave a Reply

