Book Review: The Avery Shaw Experiment by Kelly Oram

mm-one-only-october

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

favoriteTitle: The Avery Shaw Experiment
Author: Kelly Oram
Published: May 2, 2013
Publisher: Bluefields
ASIN: B00CMLBK9U
Format: Kindle Edition
Series: N/A
Acquisition: Bought

When Avery Shaw’s heart is shattered by her life-long best friend, she chooses to deal with it the only way she knows how—scientifically. 
The state science fair is coming up and Avery decides to use her broken heart as the topic of her experiment. She’s going to find the cure. By forcing herself to experience the seven stages of grief through a series of social tests, she believes she will be able to get over Aiden Kennedy and make herself ready to love again. But she can’t do this experiment alone, and her partner (ex partner!) is the one who broke her heart.
Avery finds the solution to her troubles in the form of Aiden’s older brother Grayson. The gorgeous womanizer is about to be kicked off the school basketball team for failing physics. He’s in need of a good tutor and some serious extra credit. But when Avery recruits the lovable Grayson to be her “objective outside observer,” she gets a whole lot more than she bargained for, because Grayson has a theory of his own: Avery doesn’t need to grieve. She needs to live. And if there’s one thing Grayson Kennedy is good at, it’s living life to the fullest.

banner-book-babble

The Avery Shaw Experiment is Kelly Oram’s shortest novel as of now, and I definitely want it to be a lot longer. Well, I just really want more of it because it’s just so sweet, adorable, and hilarious. The color of the cover matches the tone of the story well. I stayed up all night for this book because it was just so awesome. This book was an insta-buy because Kelly Oram wrote it so I read the whole thing without even reading the synopsis or any other review so there were a lot of pleasant surprises for me.

I love love love that Kelly Oram finally wrote a book with two points of view. In her previous books, she just gives out short extras to see into the guy’s thoughts, and it always left me wanting more. Here, she gave me more, but I still want soooo much more. The story is told in the perspectives of Avery Shaw and Grayson Kennedy. And Grayson Kennedy is definitely an entertaining character. I really love reading about his thoughts.

Avery Shaw has always been with Aiden Kennedy. Their mothers are best friends and they share the exact same birthday. They have both been together all their lives, and to some, it seems inevitable that they would end up together. Avery surely was hoping for it as she was convinced that she was in love with Aiden. But on New Year’s Eve, Aiden broke Avery’s heart by saying they should give each other space and letting her know that he already has a girlfriend.

Since Aiden broke Avery’s heart and left her to do their annual science project alone, Avery uses this as fuel for her science experiment – studying how the 7 stages of grief could help her get over her broken heart. Luckily for Avery, Grayson has taken an interest in her and is more than willing to pick her up and help her along the way, even if it means making the popular basketball star a part of the geek club.

Grayson Kennedy is definitely a swoon-worthy guy. I love love love him. He’s just so so sweet, sensitive, and considerate. He’s simply charming, and I love how he turned intp a lovesick pansy. He made me laugh so much and made my heart melt. He’s just really irresistible to me. He even bridged the gap between the populars and the geeks. I like how the popular kids here are really nice people and there weren’t any mean girls or jerks or whatever.

One of the side characters that I really like is Avery’s best friend, Libby. Libby is a chubby little nerd girl with a big personality. I quote, “She’s a nerd to be reckoned with.” She’s just really straightforward and confident, and speaks whatever is on her mind. She doesn’t care what others might think of her. She just makes me laugh and I totally respect her for being able to just say whatever she wants. She’s awesome.

I like the relationship between the Shaw family and the Kennedy family. It may have messed up Avery and Aiden, but I find it endearing that the two mothers have been together all throughout since their pregnancy with Avery and Aiden, and have been almost inseparable since.

I really really love the whole story and format of this book. It was fun reading about Avery and Grayson’s attempts on experimenting for the science project. I think I like the Anger stage the most. I was pretty much expecting certain things to be predictable, but I was just really enjoying the whole thing so much that I didn’t even mind. I just really loved it. And the ending was just so chick-lit-movie-perfect. You just need to add the background music and you’ll be all set.

**************************************************

OVERALL, The Avery Shaw Experiment is definitely a YA contemporary romance / YA romantic comedy favorite. It’s your classic king of the popular crowd falling in love with the queen of the nerds, but the scientific approach makes it unique and the super adorable characters make it all a lot LOT better. As a chick lit lover, this book was simply perfect to me.

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Avery Shaw Experiment by Kelly Oram

  1. This looks like such a fun book from the synopsis, and I really enjoyed reading your review… The Avery Shaw Experiment is definitely going on my TBR list! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Friday Finds (4) | Paper Breathers

Leave a Reply

