Book Review: Chameleon by Kelly Oram

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Chameleon
Author: Kelly Oram
Published: June 20, 2013
Publisher: Bluefields
ASIN: B00DJVQ6AU
Format: Kindle Edition
Series: Supernaturals #1
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

For small-town rebel Dani Webber magic and monsters are no more real than the Easter Bunny… until the day she accidentally stops time. Dani quickly discovers that not only do supernaturals exist, but she herself is one of them. This is great news for her life-long best friend Russ, who can finally come clean about his own supernatural status and his undying love for her. Before the two can start to enjoy the long overdue relationship, Dani is taken by a powerful council of supernaturals who believe she is the Chosen One destined to save them from extinction. 
As if being kidnapped and expected to save the world isn’t bad enough, an ancient prophecy warns of the Chosen One’s dark nature: “Only the truest love will keep her an agent for good.” The council believes they know who this “true love” is and, unfortunately, that person isn’t Russ. The mysterious, powerful and devastatingly handsome Seer is the last person Dani wants in her life, but when she starts having visions of a horrific future, she has no one else to turn to for help. 
Soon Dani finds herself torn between two very different boys with two very different opinions of whom she can trust. With the visions getting worse and time running out, Dani is forced to put aside her feelings and work with both the Seer and Russ before an ancient evil is unleashed upon the earth.

banner-book-babble

“On the eve of that last great battle there will rise up one more powerful than the world has ever known. Without her, Evil will win. Delicate she is, for she carries the power of both light and dark, and could easily be swayed by those who would use her for harm. Nothing but the truest love will keep her an agent for Good.”

– The Last Prophesy of The Oracle

Of all the Kelly Oram books, I think that this one would have to be my least favorite. I just couldn’t buy into the whole idea of it. A lot of it was just really messed up. I don’t even know how to explain it. It was hard to figure out who to like and who to trust. The whole plot was just really frustrating, and the characters didn’t really help either.

Dani wasn’t a likable character. I guess I was just really disappointed in her. In the beginning of the book, she held a lot of promise – being a troublemaker and brave and all that. But somewhere along the way, she just lost her fire. I know she’s not purely to blame, but it was all just frustrating. I hated the decisions she made. It was all just terrible to me. It wasn’t all her fault, but I wish she didn’t make it worse.

The love triangle was just horrible. Dani has known Russ all her life and they have been best friends throughout it all. They even admitted to each other how much they have fallen in love with each other. But the council of supernaturals had to change all of that. They forced Dani to Gabriel. Gabriel was a pretty decent guy – he’s smart, innocent, naive, formal, caring and all that. But I cannot fall for him. I just didn’t like the whole idea of it.

I think the only thing I really liked about this book was Dani’s supernatural ability and her assigned protector, Duncan. I like the whole idea of her powers and her limitations. Of course limits were meant to be broken, but it was nice seeing her powers progress. She can be any supernatural being simply by touch. This has always been a power I would choose ever since a child or teen starts thinking about it. I think it was inspired by Rogue from X-men. But in Dani’s case, she doesn’t need to suck the life out of the person. She does need their energy though because her powers are yet unstable having just manifested.

We also have Duncan, the vampire. He took his role as Dani’s protector beyond of what was expected him. I like him because he acted a lot like Dani’s big brother and even broke some rules for her. He did things behind the council’s back just to help Dani or make her feel better. He was just really sweet and charming, and may be one of the few vampires that I like.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Chameleon was a book that I couldn’t really get into much. There were both good and bad parts, but the good cannot outweigh the bad. There were so many secrets and questions left unanswered. I’m not sure if more will be shown on the next book, but I just feel so off about the series as of now. I’m not even sure if I would like to continue the whole series. The characters were just horrible in the frustrating kind of way, but I do like Dani’s supernatural ability. All in all, Chameleon was a decent read.

RATING:

3.5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing. 
2 thoughts on “Book Review: Chameleon by Kelly Oram

  1. As I was reading that synopsis, I kept cringing over and over. It just oozes of instalove 😛 I’m glad it worked out well enough for you, but I think I’ll take your word for it and leave this as my only experience with it 😉

  2. Pingback: ARC Book Review: Ungifted by Kelly Oram | Always Lost In Books

Leave a Reply

