ARC Book Review: More Than Jamie Baker by Kelly Oram

WARNING: This is a review for a second book in a series so spoilers are a possibility. You can read my review on book 1, Being Jamie Baker, here. You may also skip to the OVERALL and rating part.

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: More Than Jamie Baker
Author: Kelly Oram
Expected Publication: October 15, 2013
Publisher: Bluefields
Format: ARC ebook
Series: Jamie Baker #2
Acquisition: From the author

Purchase at: Amazon

Jamie Baker, the only girl in the world with superpowers, has now accepted who she is and learned to control her power. Not to mention she has the best boyfriend on the planet. Life is finally looking good. But the day she witnesses an accident and decides not to save the guy out of fear of being exposed, she realizes that simply being Jamie Baker isn’t enough.
After seeing Jamie so wrecked with guilt, the ever-helpful Ryan Miller decides it’s time to make all of his fantasies about turning his girlfriend into an honest-to-goodness superhero become a reality.
Of course, coming up with a decent Super Name and fending off all of Ryan’s attempts to get her into spandex aren’t the only problems Jamie faces. The more her alter ego starts to make headlines, the harder it becomes for Jamie to hide her extracurricular activities from her best friend, the government, radical scientists, and the mysterious new guy who is determined to steal her from her boyfriend.

banner-book-babble

Of all of the Kelly Oram books, I think this is the most disappointing one for me. I think that is mostly because I fell so in love with Being Jamie Baker that I had high expectations for this book.

When I started reading this book, it opened up with Jamie Baker and her now BFF Becky Eastman, and they were now in college. And then a drunk Mike Driscoll shows up. A lot of things happen. But in my mind, I just kept on asking “Where is Ryan Miller? Gimme Ryan Miller.” And he does show up a lot in the book, which is just wonderful. He’s my favorite part in the whole book. There was even a really perfect Jamie-Ryan scene that I wish the book ended right there, but it didn’t and it went downhill from there.

I know I like Kelly Oram’s straightforward men, but when she put in Teodoro Vivenzio, my balloon of love got a little deflated. I hated how Teddy kept on making a move on Jamie. Since I’m a big Ryan Miller fan, I took it all too personally. If he played nice, I might have liked him. But he was just really awful. He just went way too far. I had a bad feeling about him from the start.

There’s a lot more action in this book as Jamie embraces her powers and her ability to save other people. I like how she becomes a modern superhero, and how she just really likes helping out other people. But there’s also more evil lurking about that might take more than superpowers to defeat. There are a couple of very evil people that I just really hated.

 I think the part that really broke my heart was the ending. It was just so awful that I couldn’t have imagined it to ever happen. It was just so soap-opera-cliche that I was so frustrated by it. It was so bad that I’m conflicted whether it is good or bad having a sequel to my beloved Being Jamie Baker. It just really made me go “WTF” which I don’t think often about a book. I do hope it gets better in the final book. Kelly Oram has a lot of damage control to do, but I will definitely read it. It makes me wonder if she shouldn’t write series books.

**************************************************

OVERALL, More Than Jamie Baker is pretty much a mixed bag for me. There were parts that were annoying, but there were also parts that I really really loved. I think my worst frustration about this book is how much I hate the ending. It’s like it’s forcing me to read the next book, which I don’t really need because I would have done it any other way. I wish More Than Jamie Baker didn’t end like that, but nothing I could do about it. Despite my disappointment in this sequel, I would still definitely read the last installment because I believe in Kelly Oram’s writing and I think it would turn out well. Plus, I need to see more of the sweet and charming Ryan Miller. I will also buy this book just for the perfect Jamie-Ryan moment.

RATING:

3.5-star

For a limited time Being Jamie Baker(Jamie Baker #1) is available for $.99 onAmazon and Barnes&Noble!

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

